Will Fry

Club Member Since 7/25/2005

Send me a message

“Expect change, except from a vending machne”

City: Roanoke State: VA

Favorite Shoe: New Balance 1064 Size: 11.5

Age: 65.4 years old

Marital Status: married a beautiful woman with poor taste in men

Family members:
one wife, two kids, one dog

What I do for work:
try to do the right thing

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Michigan, Texas, California, Colorado, and now Virginia.

When I started running and what got me started:
I had to take a gym class my senior year in college and the only thing that was open was 8AM running. I figured that if I could get thru that that I could learn to do most anything.

What does running mean to me:
It used to mean knee pain, but after I suffered a brain injury my knee pain went away.( Please don't try this at home, your results may vary!) I appreciate that I can run

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
not smart enough to stop

What I like about trail/mountain running:
That a carnivore could be just around the corner, or someone who thought they were far enough away from everyone else that they could pee on the trail - hey I'm wearing new shoes!

Favorite running trail and why:
any one with cab service - why? that should be obvious.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Pike's Peak Ascent - did it the first time to honor my brother who had died and it just became special. Last year I did it for my Dad died on Memorial day from a brain tumor. This year my Mom's cancer is back. Lucky me I can still choose when I hurt.

Best running experience:
getting a bit better than the last time

Worst running experience:
Standing inside wishing I could go outside and run

Neatest thing found on a run:
the view, a great idea

Running related bathroom stop story:
oh, it was a bad time in an urban area - thank goodness for the pile of railroad ties

Running pet peeves:
Oggie is now a two year old, we are running together a bit more

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I have cut a human body in half with a chainsaw to save someone else after the San Francisco earthquake in 1999
I have a sense of humor
No, the first thing really is true, honest

Other hobbies and interests:
photography, biking, kiteboarding, chaos theory

Other stuff:
Herniated disc, weak left leg. No running this year for a while. Hopefully will get strength back to do PPA again!

Page last modified: 6/22/2011

You are viewing Will Fry’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home