Werner Kroer

Club Member Since 9/7/2009

Send me a message

Visit my website

Werner Kroer - Running Fuerenalp, Switzerland
Running Fuerenalp, Switzerland

“Nothing Proves Anything!”

City: Baden Country: AUT

Favorite Shoe: LaSportiva Size: 12

Age: 61.8 years old

Marital Status: in a relationship

Family members:
'patchwork'-family with 3 gown-up children + 1 dog

What I do for work:
CTO of a Pharmaceutical Company

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Austria, Switzerland, USA (NJ), Austria again, because we also have a few mountains here...

When I started running and what got me started:
at age 42 my first official marathon (1 K for each year of life = 42K/26.2m)

What does running mean to me:
Self-exploration, being one with nature, relaxation, meditation.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
> 260 Marathons & Ultras


What I like about trail/mountain running:
the challenge, the scenery, being exposed to the elements, the pace

Favorite running trail and why:
in the US: Mount Rose (NV) / L.Tahoe area - ascent to the summit from the parking lot.
Numerous trails in the Alps (especially in Austria, Switzerland and Italy).

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
10K / + 1.000m altitude gain run on Lower Austria's Schneeberg (up to 1.800m) trail, against the old cograil steam engine (always wins the W100 age group, sometimes the entire race...).

Best running experience:
Pikes Peak 2007. After suffering from altitude sickness during my first PPM in 2005, I was spending a week of adjusting in the Manitou Springs area in that year of my 2. attempt. Eventually this paid off a lot and I was doing well in the marathon.

Worst running experience:
Sentiero della Grigne Sky Marathon, Pasturo, Italy - the longest(-lasting) marathon...
... and my first and only DNF in over 200 marathons and ultras.
(9.600 ft. of altitude gain on 27 miles...), but nevertheless one of the most exciting and challenging mountain races there was (abandoned in 2013). Finisher in 2009.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
don't like to get up early for races - why are there only so few afternoon / night runs?

Other hobbies and interests:
(open water) swimming, biking (mountain biking that is), hiking, snowshoeing, skiing, ....

Other stuff:
did my first "10Min10D" in 2014 and again 2015-2019. Great experience! Will take place again in 2021: first 2 weeks in August - Orta Lake (Gozzano), ITA, '10-Marathons-in-10-Days'.
also: first week of July 2021 '10M-in-10D' in Austria (Bad Blumau).
Mid-June: Mozart100 (100M, 100K, 42K), Salzburg. Austria

Page last modified: 11/27/2020

You are viewing Werner Kroer’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home