Vicki Martin

Club Member Since 7/27/1999

Send me a message

Vicki Martin

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Adidas Size: 9

Age: 67.4 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
My husband Steve, My daughter Abby(29), and sons Jon(26), and Chris(21), sadly Chris passed away in October of 2005. The newest edition is my Grandaughter Katie, born in July of 2006, she's wonderful!!.We also have Kohl our Weimaraner, and Amber Sue our kitty.

What I do for work:
I am the Facilities Director at the El Pomar Youth Sports Park. I schedule the baseball and soccer games, with leagues,clubs,and schools. I also do the bookkeeping, etc.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I was born in Wichita, KS. and I lived in Augsburg, Germany for 3 years. I spent most of my summers in Green Mt. Falls growing up. My great grandparents owned 3 cabins in the 30's and we ended up with
one. I moved here in the spring of '77 and have lived here since. Colorado is home.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running in May of '98. I started working out on the treadmill and kept increasing the time and speed and then ran my first race with my sister at Race for the Cure that year. I loved that experience and it began a new life for me.

What does running mean to me:
It means being outside (mostly) in the woods and great exercise.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
I ran the Pikes Peak Ascent in '99, and placed 2nd in my age group. I then began running the Pikes Peak Marathon. In 2000 I finished 27th, 3rd in age group. 2001 I finished 16th, 1st in age group. 2002 I finished 14th, 1st in age group. 2003 finished 33rd(oops), 3rd in age group. 2004 I finished 23rd, 1st in age group. In 2005, I finished 1st in age group, best time ever for me!!

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I love being in the mountains they are peaceful to me.

Favorite running trail and why:
I would say Barr Trail is my favorite. It always kicks butt and lets me know when I'm slacking.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
I would say Pikes Peak Marathon. It is a accomplishment and challenge I never imagined I would be doing!

Best running experience:
My first Pikes Peak Marathon

Worst running experience:
Back in around '99 I ran the Rescue Run in Palmer Park. I took a wrong turn (bad directional signs) and cut off about a mile of the race. I was getting all kinds of congrats at the end and I'm wondering how I got that time. It occurred to me I couldn't of run the whole thing so I dropped out. I think I was like first female or something. I watch the signs better now.

Neatest thing found on a run:
My sanity.....

Running pet peeves:
People who won't move over so we can share the trail.

Other hobbies and interests:
I love spending time with my family. Hanging out at home.

Other stuff:
If your training for the Ascent or the Marathon, the Incline Club is the way to go. The training and support you get from this group is awesome. If your not training for a race no matter, the support and love for running is also shared.

Page last modified: 11/27/2006

You are viewing Vicki Martin’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home