Tom McKernan

Club Member Since 12/22/2004

Send me a message

Tom McKernan - In my younger days...
In my younger days...

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: North Face 105 Size: 13

Age: 63.9 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Four humans and two dogs

What I do for work:
Engineering stuff.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Florida, Louisiana, Michigan, Guam, Ohio, Alabama, Massachusetts, and Colorado. Mountains and summer weather can't be beat.

When I started running and what got me started:
1992 due to some military training.

What does running mean to me:
A way to constantly challenge yourself.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Five PPAs; Six PPMs.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Just being outside and enjoying the day.

Favorite running trail and why:
The Incline, 'cause no matter how slow you go, you always get a workout.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
The Pikes Peak Marathon. Provides motivation for an entire year of training.

Best running experience:
My 2008 PPM! I finally broke nine hours with a PR up and down.

Worst running experience:
The 2007 PPM. No training in July due to sprained ankle; heat cramps from Mile 3, and blisters the size of quarters all made for a challenging day.

Running related bathroom stop story:
It's not a question of IF, just a matter of WHEN.

Running pet peeves:
Stepping on a itty bitty rock in the middle of a flat, smooth trail that you hit just right with your heel that you roll your ankle. I've done that twice on training runs but I didn't do it once during my PPM. Go figure.

Other hobbies and interests:
Bagging 14'ers and golf.

Page last modified: 8/25/2010

You are viewing Tom McKernan’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home