Timothy Edwards

Club Member Since 5/28/1998

Send me a message

Timothy Edwards -  I sure like it up here !
I sure like it up here !

“Always Keep Trying”

City: Florissant State: CO

Favorite Shoe: leather toe Nike Size: 10.5

Age: 63.8 years old

Marital Status: was for 20 years. Might do it again: please call.

Family members:
kids Kendra ('85), Ashley ('86)and son-in-law Shane. Mother Carrie, siblings Barbara and Steve. Grandkids Kailee (2005), Ethan (2006) and Logan (2009)

What I do for work:
I own a septic tank pumping business; am a licensed water plant operator; handyman and mechanic when pOOp is slow.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
New Mexico; Bay Area CA; Pikes Peak Region. I currently live in the Pikes Peak Region because it has the best year round weather and fabulous outdoor athletic opportunities! I love 13'er & 14'er Mtns and Pikes Peak is RIGHT HERE!

When I started running and what got me started:
At age 40, I started running to quit smoking - it worked!

What does running mean to me:
Peace of mind and spirituality when on remote forested trails.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Pikes Peak Double STREAKER, 9 consecutive years as of the moment I crossed the marathon finish line in 2007. Severe back injury made my Doctor order against my competing in 2008, breaking my perfect streak.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Trail/mountain running is a spiritual experience for me!

Favorite running trail and why:
I like every running trail I've tried.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Pikes Peak Double: plenty tough and in my neighborhood.

Best running experience:
Finished the San Juan 50 on my first attempt.

Worst running experience:
Wanting to quit at mile 40 of the San Juan due to extreme foot pain. Taught me to press on - the last ten miles were the easiest.

Neatest thing found on a run:
A better person inside.

Running pet peeves:
People who don't push their dog's poop off the trail.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I made jewelry for a living in the mid 70's.

Other hobbies and interests:
I play live drumset in the band at Church. The music ROCKS and I "knock-the-snot" out of a professional series drumkit on the platform. Great fun.

Other stuff:
Advice to keep running:
I have a running streak thanks to advice from Matt Carpenter in 2001. I almost let my job prevent me from running the Pikes Peak Marathon (after the Ascent) that year. I asked Matt what to do: he suggested not to break a streak. I took vacation that day and did well in the marathon. Thanks, Matt!

Page last modified: 5/12/2009

You are viewing Timothy Edwards’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home