Shawn Everson

Club Member Since 8/9/2009

Send me a message

Visit my website

City: Saint Louis State: MO

Favorite Shoe: Brooks Beast Size: 11

Age: 58 years old

Marital Status: M

Family members:
3 boys, 1 in college and 2 in high school; 1 wife; 1 dog

What I do for work:
I am an orthopedic physical therapist; see my website!!

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Grew up in the Springs; at 18 moved to St Louis to go to PT school at St Louis U. Married a St. Louis girl and I've been here ever since. I really like 95 degree heat with 90% humidity and bitter cold winters with 3" of sleet and ice covered by 1/4" snow. Actually, St. Louis has been a great place to raise a family.

When I started running and what got me started:
Started in 9th grade at Horace Mann Jr High with the prodding of 2 good friends. Slightly to my surprise, I was a natural. Running a mile sounded hard; hell, it was easy!

What does running mean to me:
1-2 hours of freedom; no cell phone, no work. Clears the mind, great for the body and soul. Life's problems are better handled if you've run 3 days a week. It also lets me eat more cookies.

Running accomplishments:
1981 2 mile run "city" champ. It was really only District 11. A kid from Widefield would have kicked my ass, but he wasn't there, was he?

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I haven't really done much; I just hear about it from my brother, Mike, all the time.

Best running experience:
See "running accomplishments" above

Worst running experience:
1 week after best experience, performed horribly at districts in all events (2 mile, high jump, triple jump) and didn't even score let alone go to state.

Neatest thing found on a run:
I'm still waiting to find something neat

Running related bathroom stop story:
XC Districts 1980; finally get through line to get in porta- potty; alleged teammates decide to rock the thing side to side. Not cool!

Running pet peeves:
Trippng and falling ticks me off. It happenned a lot less once I got glasses years ago.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I've watched way too many episodes of "The Dog Whisperer"

Other hobbies and interests:
Keep up with my high school wrestler, who has gone to state, unlike his dad. Keep up with my high school hockey player, who could very well go to state, unlike his dad. Keep up with the oldest son by attending football/basketball games at Mizzou; play a little guitar; prove to our dog that The Dog Whisperer is a genius.

Other stuff:
I have recently started "forefoot" running vs heelstrike. I haven't been sold on this completely but I am intrigued the more I study it. Mike sent me an email on the subject from Matt Carpenter; and I've looked through info on the website for Newton running shoes.

Page last modified: 8/9/2009

You are viewing Shawn Everson’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home