Sara Wulfkuhle

Club Member Since 3/28/2007

Send me a message

Sara Wulfkuhle

“A dream becomes a goal when action is taken toward its achievement. ”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Brooks Cascadia - Trail Size: 7

Age: 45.2 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Daughters- Halee and Christian

What I do for work:
5th Grade School Teacher

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I grew up in Orange County, California.
I moved to Colorado Springs in 1995, and chose to live here because it is a great place to raise kids, and the outdoors is beautiful.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started when I was 5. I competed as a child and throughout high school. I took a break to have my kids, and started back in 2005.

What does running mean to me:
Everything! My peace of mind, a good time, a date with my wife, a stroll with my kids, and a great way to stay in shape!

Running accomplishments:
Squaw Peak 50 Miler - Provo, UT
High Mountain 50K - Leadville, CO
2008 Salida Marathon - look it up!
Running two marathons in one weekend!
Qualifying for Boston Marathon!

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The challenge, at times. You never know what is coming next, or what your going to get...a hill, a mountain, a mudslide, snow, the list goes on!

Favorite running trail and why:
Cheyenne Canon, every trail.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Squaw Peak 50 Miler - It was very challenging and tested my limits. It had five hours of rain, which led to mud. We also had snow. It also has 14,000ft of elevation change. The best part though - the wild flowers were gorgeous! I felt like I was in heaven.

Best running experience:
The last loop of the Greenland 50K. I slowed it down to use it as a training run. I decided I could go for it on the final loop and felt like I was flying. The final 5 miles of 50K's are always great!

Worst running experience:
2008 Salida Marathon - Again, look it up!

Neatest thing found on a run:
People that care!

Running pet peeves:
When men stink and don't wear deodorant...

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I was a Spanish major.

Other hobbies and interests:
Dog Agility, mountain bike riding, gardening...

Other stuff:
I will be doing the Pikes Peak Marathon for the first time this year.
I will also hit 40 fourteeners. Climbing is more fun.

Page last modified: 3/24/2016

You are viewing Sara Wulfkuhle’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home