Ryan Kohler

Club Member Since 6/17/2003

Send me a message

Ryan Kohler

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Teva X1/c Size: 11.5

Age: 39.2 years old

Marital Status: Married to fellow IC'er Christy Kohler

Family members:
Christy (the misses), Mom, Dad, Einstein (dog), and Summer (dog)

What I do for work:
I am a coach and sports nutritionist at the moment but have worked with USA Cycling coaching junior mountain bikers, and PPCC as a nutrition instructor.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Pennsylvania will always be my home. I grew up there. I love Colorado Springs for the beauty and recreational opportunities. Being able to ski a mountain like Pikes Peak and then ride the bike later in the day is something you don't find just anywhere.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running in college, in part training for triathlons, and then just worked out of those and got really into trail running.

What does running mean to me:
Running, for me, means getting lost in my trail run, not really worrying about where to go, but just enjoying the time spent in the woods.

Running accomplishments:
September 2005 I finished the Megatransect. It was the first race that resembled a trail marathon, even though it was only 24.3 miles. It had 5,600 feet of elevation gain with some pretty steep Pennsylvania hills.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
No cars, cool people, and great scenery!

Favorite running trail and why:
Barr Trail will always be one of my favorites because it was the first trail run for me in CO and was also the trail that really 'hooked me' into trail running.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
I love the Barr Trail Mountain Race. The volunteers are great and it's just a fun event.

Worst running experience:
Running my first road marathon. It was just boring. The people who lined the course were great supporters, and made it a fun race, but I just didn't like pounding the pavement for so long.

Neatest thing found on a run:
Everything you wouldn't typically find in the city atmosphere.

Running pet peeves:
Finding trash on the trail from inconsiderate hikers/runners/cyclists.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I love pizza and ice cream!

Other hobbies and interests:
Cycling, trail running, climbing, skiing, hiking, camping, adventure racing, etc.

Page last modified: 11/29/2009

You are viewing Ryan Kohler’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home