Rob Cashell

Club Member Since 8/21/2006

Send me a message

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Asics Size: 7.5

Age: 48.9 years old

Marital Status: Single

Family members:
Sister, Brother in Law (Both Ascent finishers) and Neice Ella (3 months)Live here in the Springs.

What I do for work:
I work as a natural gas pipeline controller/engineering dude.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Stationed in San Diego, CA onboard the USS Gurnard (A Nuclear Submarine) got tired of not seeing the sun.
Seattle, WA (got tired of not seeing the sun)- Indianapolis, IN (plenty of sun, no mountains)

I like Colorado for the combination of the sun (being able to see it everyday is a plus), mountains, fresh air and family.

When I started running and what got me started:
When I was in 6th grade, someone told me that nobody got cut from the track team, so I was in!

What does running mean to me:
Running is my favorite way to relax, or to think about life and even to really enjoy the beauty of this place. I also enjoy the mental challenge that running and racing gives me.

Running accomplishments:
I have prayed for probably everyone I know while running. I've made most people I know laugh while running

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Much more exciting than road running! Trail running requires my brain to really think about each step. I notice my mileage has gone up since I moved here, each run is more of an adventure.

Favorite running trail and why:
Goat Camp to Barr trail and back, going out is down and fast, an agile speed run, coming back up is brutal, but when I'm tired I can enjoy a beautiful view while resting for a few minutes.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
I volunteered at the Ascent 2006, and I love the way the whole community really gets into this race. I had so much fun volunteering, and all the runners were very appreciative of our help, great event!

Best running experience:
Ran 1:28:?? half-marathon in Orlando, negative splits the whole way, just kept feeling better and better.

Worst running experience:
Haven't really had a bad one

Running pet peeves:
PooP! Dung, excrement! really, I am even a dog person, just clean it up, ok, ok I'm preaching to the Choir.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I was on a submarine that got attacked by pirates

Other hobbies and interests:
Music, Cooking, Snowboarding and Mtn. Biking.
I am a Christian and very interested (and respectful) of people's world/spiritual view. Conversing about this is a passion of mine.

Page last modified: 8/21/2006

You are viewing Rob Cashell’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home