Rita Cardin

Club Member Since 7/30/2007

Send me a message

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Inov 8 flyrocs Size: 8 1/2

Age: 48.6 years old

Marital Status: happily married to Shawn since 1990!

Family members:
Shawn, Marisa~ 9/1996, Brittany~ 5/1999, Daniella~9/2002. Also Annie & Elly the cats, Anastasia the tortoise, and assorted water creatures.

What I do for work:
I was a stay-at-home mom for 11 years and I recently finished my second year as a Kindergarten Teacher's Assistant.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Mapleton, Iowa...my parents still live there on a 3rd generation farm. Iowa City, Iowa...Go Hawkeyes! Lakeview & Baker City, Oregon...too far from Iowa. Colorado Springs since January 1997...we love it here!

When I started running and what got me started:
I began running in junior high because it was a sport that I was halfway decent at and I loved doing it. I continued with it through high school and at a small college in northwestern Iowa where I ran cross country and track for two years.

What does running mean to me:
Running gives me the opportunity to do something I love while taking care of myself and it helps me to be a better mom and wife. I hope to be running for many years to come!

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
The 2007 Pikes Peak Marathon!! My very first marathon ever! Any marathon after this one should be a piece of cake, eh?!
I also set the school record for the 800 meter run in high school...it wasn't broken for about 15 years. :-)

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I like trail running because the scenery just can't be beat and it's better for my joints than the hard road or concrete sidewalks.

Favorite running trail and why:
Barr Trail...beautiful scenery and a tough workout.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
I have 2 favorites...if that's okay. The Living History Farm race in Des Moines, Iowa. It's 7 miles of cross-country running through cornfields, timber and creeks with lots of mud and creek crossings. My other favorite is the Pikes Peak Marathon. I really like knowing that I can do it and it's fun to hear my name at the finish!

Best running experience:
The 2007 Pikes Peak Marathon...it was my first marathon!

Worst running experience:
None really...although I could do without the thunder & lightning any time.

Neatest thing found on a run:
Hopefully never a bear or a mountain lion.

Running pet peeves:
Thunder and lightning, rude people.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I have an identical twin sister and I showed 1800 pound steers in 4-H back in Iowa.

Other hobbies and interests:
I love to bake desserts...which is probably why I can't seem to lose those last few pounds?

Other stuff:
My goals for the 2008-09 running season are to be more consistent with my training throughout the winter, to run the Barr Trail Mountain race, and to do my best to be a positive role model for my 3 daughters. And to have fun while I run! :-)

Page last modified: 5/29/2009

You are viewing Rita Cardin’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home