Richard Detwiler

Club Member Since 9/9/2007

Send me a message

City: Webster State: NY

Favorite Shoe: Saucony Size: 11

Age: 72.2 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Wife, Cheryl. Children: Andrea age 25 (lives in Steamboat Springs), Greg age 23 (in college in New York).

What I do for work:
Semi-retired engineer. Working a total of about 20 hours a week at three jobs, including a seasonal job at a ski slope near us.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Pike's Peak Ascent in 2007!!! Three prior road marathons, but most recent was 2002.

Although mostly a road and trail runner, the performance I'm most proud of is that in my early 40's, I did a 1-mile race on the track in 5:09.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The varied scenery, the less severe wear and tear on the legs, and the challenge which keeps me more mentally alert than when doing long road runs.

Favorite running trail and why:
Ellison Wetlands trail system, near my home in Webster NY. It is close to home, very hilly, with many miles of nice single-track challenging trails. Plus, it is seldom used.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Pike's Peak, of course, because I'm excited to have trained for and completed it in 2007.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I play electric bass in a rock band.

Other hobbies and interests:
Music, boating, skiing, snowboarding, orienteering.

Page last modified: 9/9/2007

You are viewing Richard Detwiler’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home