Patrick Martinez

Club Member Since 5/11/2014

City: Thornton State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Adidas Tempo Size: 10

Age: 41.1 years old

Marital Status: Single

What I do for work:
Recreation Manager

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I've lived all over Colorado, from Grand Junction and Durango to Denver and Greeley. I cannot imagine leaving this beautiful place but I have to admit, I could do without the cold.

When I started running and what got me started:
Running was my mom's babysitter when my sister and I were little. She has been a marathoner since I was born and she used to take us on her 3 hour training runs. Because of this running has been rooted in my core. I ended up getting college paid for by being a sprinter at UNC (the Greeley one). I have a lot of running goals that will carry me well into my 80s and 90s.

What does running mean to me:
Running was my first mode of transportation. Its become a great way to test my limits and find adventure. Because of that my goals for running are never ending. Every year my level is different, there are new places to run, new things I could do in my training to discover more of myself.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Having the opportunity to run at a University was one of most proud moments. I was able to travel and experience a lot of new things through running. Being a sprinter I told everyone in college that I would never run a marathon. Now I've run 5 of them and have my eyes set on making a Boston qualifier. There are always some unique runs or circumstances where I've made it through some adverse conditions and it's there I've discovered a lot about myself.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The adventure. Finding new places and seeing this beautiful state.

Favorite running trail and why:
Doudy Draw to Fowler trail in Eldorado Springs Canyon.

Worst running experience:
Even in a bad run, I still got to run so it was a good day.

Running pet peeves:
Groups of people who take up the whole sidewalk. And stroller moms who are faster than me.

Other hobbies and interests:
Anything outdoors.

Other stuff:
1) "A" wave bib in Bolder Boulder
2) Boston Qualifer
3) Adventure racer
4) Eventually a masters track and field athlete.

Page last modified: 5/11/2014

You are viewing Patrick Martinez’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home