Olga King

Club Member Since 3/7/2019


City: COS State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Perl Izumi Size: 8.5

Age: 49.8 years old

Marital Status: married

Family members:
hubz Larry

What I do for work:
Massage Therapist, though I used to be a Medical Doctor, then Research Scientist. This is my downsizing of sorts.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Moscow, Russia. NYC, NY. Portland, OR. Austin, TX. Colorado Springs, CO. Because, dug, the mountains! Literally in my backyard. And the size of this city, and the people, and the weather, the seasons, the air...did I mention The Mountains??!!

When I started running and what got me started:
I ran in HS and Med School, then had a couple of kids and jogged for weight maintenance...my co-worker signed me up for a 5k in 2000 on Mother's day, and the beast jumped out. I raced non-stop for 3 months, culminating soon after in a marathon. Another (new) friend signed me up for a 50k, and the rest was history for the next 12+ years. At some point I was no longer competing as I used to, but I never stopped running.

What does running mean to me:
It's my salvation, my meditation, my sanity, the way I live life, I function, I breathe.

Running accomplishments:
Um...is it a place for bragging rights, or just a rhetorical question. Them, accomplishments, are in the past, but Ultrasignup could shed some light on it if interested.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I live for it. The words would not suffice.

Favorite running trail and why:
Way too many in my life to name one.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Hardrock 100. Bighorn 100. Bear 100. Them old school small-er races of long-er distances and remote places.

Best running experience:
Top-10 WS 100. Or, rather, running same time at SD 100 8 years later, on a tougher course, hotter day, and without crew or pacer. Age is a beautiful thing.

Worst running experience:
Being watched by a mountain lion at the dawn break in SD 100.

Neatest thing found on a run:
not looking for things, more for emotions

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I prepped for a body figure comp once. And I knit non-stop!

Other hobbies and interests:
Knitting!!! Yoga. Reading. Backpacking and through-hiking.

Other stuff:
Just keep on moving.

Page last modified: 3/7/2019


You are viewing Olga King’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home