Michele Coleman

Club Member Since 10/11/2010

Send me a message

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Brooks Cascadia/Adrenalin Size: 10

Age: 50.1 years old

Marital Status: married

Family members:
Husband Tim, daughter Alison, dog JoJo

What I do for work:

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Ohio and now here since June 2010. Ohio weather sucks. In the winter it is cloudy and there is feet of snow on the ground until April. You never see the sun. In the summer- 90's, humid, and still cloudy!! Much nicer weather here to get out and do things year round, we love it!

When I started running and what got me started:
2005-started walking to lose a few pounds and got to the point where I couldn't walk any faster so I ran.

What does running mean to me:
Enjoying the outdoors, accomplishing goals I set for myself, feeling energized

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Many half marathons, three marathons, a few 10 milers, 3 Ascents, do not like short races! I am slow and steady. In Ohio I did help my neighbors start a local county running club with monthly speakers, newsletter, group runs, and we sponsored our own race. I was the treasurer for 3 years until I moved out here.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
In Ohio there are trails but nothing too exciting, so I mostly ran roads around my house due to work schedule. Here there are trails! I love the sounds, the nature(no cars and houses), the solitude except for the occasional hiker or runner, and taking my mind off life. I used to run with my MP3 player and think about things. Now I don't take it and focus on the trail in front of me.

Favorite running trail and why:
Just started running trails in the past 2-3 years. Still do some roads(used to run exclusively roads in Ohio). I love Section 16 and Barr Trail(above the Incline shortcut-less people!). Trails are becoming harder to come down due to knee problems, especially the steeper ones.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Only one I have done is the Ascent.

Best running experience:
Finishing my first marathon where my friends and family cheered as I ran into the minor league baseball stadium to the finish line and they showed my finish on the jumbo-tron!

Worst running experience:
Having to do a 17 mile training run for that first marathon on the treadmill because we had just got back into town, the run had to be done that day(again due to work schedule), but there were thunderstorms all day preventing me from running outside.

Neatest thing found on a run:
A friend.

Running related bathroom stop story:
Nothing really funny, never caught and always had clean tissues to use!

Running pet peeves:
When I ran on the roads, cars that refused to get over even a few inches as they passed you. On trails, people going downhill who feel they have the right of way.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I have OCD, but you would know that if you saw my house!

Other hobbies and interests:
Hiking, reading, traveling, wine, Jeeping.

Other stuff:
I need to get my butt back in gear. Injuries this summer and fall have prevented me from running regularly. Hopefully can get a marathon in summer/fall 2015.

Page last modified: 11/30/2014

You are viewing Michele Coleman’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home