Melissa Marr

Club Member Since 1/25/2008

Send me a message

Melissa Marr

"What matters is not necessarily the size of the dog in the fight - it's the size of the fight in the dog." - Dwight D. Eisenhower

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Salomon Size: 8

Age: 50.2 years old

Marital Status: married to high school sweetheart

Family members:
Husband, college daughter, 3 cats and 1 cattle dog.

What I do for work:
Finished homeschooling daughter, so maybe looking for part-time work that doesn't interfere with my running.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
IL, AL, TX, UT, MD, VA, FL, England
Loved living in Europe, but CO has a great variety of outdoor activities.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running in grade school to compete with the boys.

What does running mean to me:
I get out of the house, away from problems and have time to sort through the minutiae of the day.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
have moved to running ultras. 3rd place (tie) Palo Duro 50 miler.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Free therapy.

Favorite running trail and why:
Barr Trail is great, especially making it to Barr Camp and chatting with the staff. Great people.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Still deciding. The more I run, the harder the decision.

Best running experience:
The first time my daughter placed in a 5-k. It was by default (only 3 kids in her age group) but it did wonders for her self-esteem.

Worst running experience:
America Discovery 2007. Drank some bad gatorade and spent the last 6 miles puking in the bushes. I finished, but it wasn't anything to write home about. I have since switched to Hammer and not had a single problem.

Neatest thing found on a run:
A dollar! Almost paid for coffee. :)

Running related bathroom stop story:
Left a restroom with tp stuck to my thighs and blowing in the breeze. OOPS!

Running pet peeves:
Why do dog owners catch grief for not scooping yet the horse owners escape the complaints? Either way, I hate poop on the trail.

Other hobbies and interests:
I swim, bike, kayak, hike...anything active and outdoors.

Other stuff:
Achieved my Boston Qualifier in the ADT Marathon 2009. Thanks Anita!

Page last modified: 12/3/2009

You are viewing Melissa Marr’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home