Melissa Adams

Club Member Since 5/11/2009

Send me a message

"Your attitude, not your aptitude, determines your altitude." -Warren Miller

City: Monument State: CO

Favorite Shoe: keeps my body from pain Size: 8

Age: 39.2 years old

Marital Status: single

Family members:
Bernese Mountain Dog- Oliver; 4 years

What I do for work:
Teach Special Ed in D20

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Italy, Germany, Kentucky, Texas, CO- military brat! Always had my heart and immediate family in CO. I was born to live here!

When I started running and what got me started:
16 years old. Realized how much stress it relieved and they way it helped me feel.

What does running mean to me:
Running is my drug. It helps clear my mind as well as focus on myself when needed, while keeping me healthy! I couldn't ask for a better one!

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Ascent 2006 - my dad beat me by a min 1/2
Triple crown 2009 -in process

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Trails help me really destress as I lose myself into nature. My dog loves to go out and explore with me. Hills are challenging, but definitely help to push myself to levels I didn't think possible.

Favorite running trail and why:
3- Palmer Park- all over - get lost in the city...such a treasure in town
2-Mt.Herman Trails- peaceful, not much traffic, good differentiation, dogs off leash
1-Waldo Canyon- nice hills, beautiful views of the peak!

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
the only one i know- Pikes Peak Ascent- but there will be more to come

Best running experience:

Worst running experience:
Quit track in high school - Ran miles home- was more into cross country

Neatest thing found on a run:

Running related bathroom stop story:
On any run...would much rather go in the bushes!

Running pet peeves:
Trails where I have to run w/ my dog on leash.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I was born in Italy

Other hobbies and interests:
mtn biking, hiking 14ers and exploring, camping, snowboarding

Other stuff:
I do all of this for personal challenge. Hope to meet friends a long the way to train with and celebrate the successes with.

Page last modified: 5/11/2009

You are viewing Melissa Adams’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home