Melinda Green

Club Member Since 10/17/2009

Send me a message

Melinda Green - Melinda Green
Melinda Green

"Your current safe boundaries were once unknown frontiers." - Katie White

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Air Max (Nike) Size: 10 1/2

Age: 39.4 years old

Marital Status: Divorced

Family members:
My family is located on the east coast, therefore, I do not have any family members here. My father passed last November and was a veteran. In addition, they barred him on Veteran's Day. My mother and brother are living. My oldest sister passed away many years ago before I was born. I have two cats back home, their names are blacky and Daniel. blackys' real name is David, but because he's so bossy, he answers to blacky because he's black with the prettiest green eyes. He loves woman.. typical.. smile.

What I do for work:
My occupation is with children. I currently work on Peterson AFB as a Child & Youth Program Assistant. I have been teaching, tutoring, and assisting children to adults for many years. On my down time I baby sit and home sit for military and civilian families who have to travel on business, vacation, or overseas. I enjoy operating in the ministry of helps. Lastly, I'm a volunteer Outreach Director for "Living Word Ministries International. I also volunteer for within the community will tutorial sessions for k-college level individuals, Mentorship, Child Literacy Center, Alliance Promise, Youth of American,, Volunteers of American, United Way, Harvest Bank, and many more.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I have called Virginia Beach, VA home because my ex-husband was stationed there for six years. We enjoyed and to this day that is the place I would like to call home. I love the beach and watching the sunset. I'm a outdoor person and I love to travel so Maryland was never far and the historic sites of Willamsbrug and many more...

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running three months ago. What got me started was the fact that I wanted to prove to myself that I could do the impossible as it seemed to many. I started out in March at 267 lbs. which was in the middle of my separation and process of my divorce. I decided to do something for myself and to remain positive. I didn't have a support group nor anyone to lean on. I started regular exercising and change my way of eating. I walked everywhere I went even to work which was 4 miles. This was everyday. Even if I wanted to shop. I wanted and make sure to wake up early in the morning so I would have enough time to get home and it not be dark depending on where I was going. At that time I didnt have a car either so this was very helpful. I made sure to always be positive and never to discourage myself. I didn't call it a diet. I called it eating health. I now weight 214lbs. and are happier than ever. My running isn't all that but I want to improve it and lost 38 lbs. to reach my goal of 176lbs. I look forward to any suggestions...

What does running mean to me:
Running to me means mental stability. The opportunity to see my body as a mechanical machine with a engine (my mind). And how it will interact with my success. Also to see the happiness flourish in my life as running will give me better and a greater endurance. I like camping, kayaking, canoeing, rafting, horseback riding and so much more. so running allows me to the opportunity to get fit to enjoy these activities more without limitations.

Running accomplishments:
My best run time on the pikes peak incline including taking Bar Trail down was 1 hr. and 45 Mins. When on flat level touran, my best run time was 11-15 mins. to complete a mile. I want to improve this.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I like the differences in the motion and movement of the muscles because so much is being build and worked all at once than being on a treadmill or running around the track. The scenery keeps your mind focus and not bored.

Favorite running trail and why:
I like either red wood cayon and Garden of the Gods. Bar Trail because they are the only ones I have been introduced to and on.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
I have never been to a mountain race.. I have only been here a year and three months.

Best running experience:
Was when I hadn't worked out in three weeks because of my work schedule. However, when I got on the track, I was clocked at doing a mile and a half at 15minutes.

Worst running experience:
None... Life is full of ups and downs... I'm just a beginner...

Neatest thing found on a run:
A cave...I'm from the south so I do see that at all....

Running related bathroom stop story:
none at this time...

Running pet peeves:
people who are just not following the rules or just being dare devils. Safety is always important no matter what. One must learn to follow before he or she can lead.
And a person who isn't a team player or that complains all the time.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I like country music, meditation music, and I want to go to AZ sometime next year. Also, I have a special interest in guys who like the same activities I do and that would love to do them with me...

Other hobbies and interests:
I enjoy Tennis, golf, soccer,hockey, reading, writing, tutoring, singing, hiking, camping, kayaking, canoeing, rafting, collecting butterflies, collecting anything pink and green, want to learn to Ski, rock climbing, dirt bike riding or even in a truck (my brother does it all the time), fishing, hunting(want to learn), knitting, and more than anything traveling....

Other stuff:
I like movies that are romantic and comedic. I'am a semi-vegetarian. But not to the heart, just trying something new. I'm so into my health. My previous major was Health Care Admin. Now it is Social Science with a concentration in Education. I love learning and NEVER want to STOP!!

My advice: Surround yourself with people who are were you want to be or going in the same direction. Otherwise, your life will be a washing machine; going in the same cycle that it started in.

Page last modified: 10/17/2009

You are viewing Melinda Green’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home