May Hui

Club Member Since 12/4/2017

“If you didn't take a photo, it didn't happen.”

City: Peyton State: CO Size: 9.5

Age: 47.2 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
My husband Phil.....I have a best fur child named Ace. He is the cutest Italian Greyhound.

What I do for work:
I work at home and run in a business in Los Angeles.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I grew up in Needles, California; went to UCSB and studied abroad in Hong Kong my 5th year; lived in Los Angeles from 1996-2007, live in New Orleans for 2 years, then back to LA, and moved to CO in Jan 2015 so my husband can take over his dad's family business.

When I started running and what got me started:
In 2013, My friend Jen wanted to run a 10k for a New Years Resolution goal. I said I'd join her. That was my first race in cotton socks and all! Then I joined a running group, not knowing it was a marathon training group. So, I got caught up in it week by week with increased training runs and since everyone else was going to run the LA marathon, I thought, why not? Then the race addiction started!

What does running mean to me:
For me, running is a way for me to be social, meet people, and get to know CO. I love to eat so I run and do strength training as my way to stay in shape and not be obese.

Running accomplishments:
Ran Las Vegas Marathon in Elvis costume with dark sunglasses!! One 50k, 12 marathons, many half marathons, 10Ks, and 5Ks.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I want to get better at hills and trails for 2018.

Worst running experience:
My 1st marathon in Los Angeles. I trained so hard but got injured 2 months before (knee). I thought I'd still show up to the start line and try to finish slowly. It was in the 90's that day. My knee hurt so bad, I was dehydrated, I had stomach issues. I quit and then decided not to quit and finished at 7:20. I said I'd never do another marathon but woke up the next day to sign up for the New Orleans Marathon to prove I can run faster than 7:20. I finished that 2nd one in 4:49.

Running pet peeves:
People spitting in front of me or launching a snot rocket during a run. I don't want to hear it, see it, or be near someone when they do that.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I'm addicted to Ms. Pac Man and Tetris!

Other hobbies and interests:
Quilting, poker, sewing, reading, running with burros, hiking, TV, bowling, paddleboarding, movies, hanging out with friends, making new friends

Other stuff:
Colorado has been such a great place for me. I didn't realize how adaptable I am to going from living in the city to the country. I've made such great friends here in the running community. I'm very grateful to have found such a wonderful community.

Page last modified: 12/4/2017

You are viewing May Hui’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home