Mary Begemann

Club Member Since 3/9/2003

Send me a message

“Nannies run ALL DAY LONG!!!”

City: Kansas City State: MO

Favorite Shoe: New Balance 765 Size: 11

Age: 45.7 years old

Marital Status: Single

Family members:
Two kitties: Phae and Eponine. Eponine likes to sleep with her head resting in my running shoes.

What I do for work:
Nanny for two little monsters, I mean adorable children, ages 4 and 3.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Odessa, MO; Olathe, KS; San Francisco, CA; Kansas City, MO. I have a lot of great friends here in Kansas City; it's a fairly inexpensive place to live, and I'm close enough to my family that I can visit when I want.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running spring 2002. I had done a lot of fitness walking and bicycling, and decided it was time to challenge myself and do something I'd never really done before. In the beginning, I ran slower than I could walk, but it didn't take long to pick up the pace.

What does running mean to me:
In the beginning, it was a way to meet a challenge I'd made to myself, but now it's more about getting outdoors and getting some "me time." After a full day chasing two very active kiddos, it's nice to be by myself, doing something that's just for me. I always feel better after a run, especially the long weekend ones.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
I finished my first Pikes Peak Ascent in 2003.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I grew up on a farm, and it reminds me of the days I'd spend exploring with my brother back by our creek or in the woods.

Best running experience:
This winter I've run in the middle of a couple of snowstorms, and it was so serene. No one else was out, so not only did I have some quality solitude, I also felt pretty good for making it out when no one else did.

Neatest thing found on a run:
My sanity!

Running pet peeves:
When someone I don't know at all turns around and starts running with me without even asking if it's okay, and then expects me to carry on a conversation. One guy even asked me to run on the other side so that his dog would be more comfortable.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I know how to change my own fuel filter.

Other hobbies and interests:
Reading, writing, knitting, travel, having people over to eat all my junk food so I won't be tempted to scarf it all down myself.

You are viewing Mary Begemann’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home