Marisa Novobilski

Club Member Since 7/18/2020


“You didn't wake up today to be mediocre!”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Saucony Peregrine Size: Big

Age: 42.3 years old

Marital Status: Yes

Family members:
One husband, no kids, and 2 crazy canines

What I do for work:
Air Force Public Affairs

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Jersey-girl by birth (how you doin'?), but I have lived all over--Florida, UK, Thailand, Germany, Colorado, Ohio...

I love living in Colorado--where else will you find a 70 year old woman running up the mountain..and passing you! I love the mountains, the outdoors and the lack of oxygen :)

When I started running and what got me started:
I played team sports my entire life, and running was always my punishment. After college, I married my husband and we moved to Thailand. Our house was located amidst the rice paddies, and the closest gym was an hour away and would require riding in multiple Thai tuk tuks (motorcycle taxi) or Songtaus (pickup truck with 2 benches in the back). Our small "American" housing compound included a few DEA agents and former Marines who would run in the morning and invited me to come. After eating their dust, I kept on running...and running...and running...

What does running mean to me:
I get to see the world by foot!

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
I consider lacing up and getting out the door each day a victory!

..multiple races of all distances, up to 50 miles. My goal now is to find the ones in the most beautiful places!

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I get to trip a lot...just kidding...you get to see so much more by foot than outside a car window. And the people you meet are awesome!

Favorite running trail and why:
Still learning the trails in the area, but love them all!

Best running experience:
My first JFK 50 mile race. It was my first 50 miler and the best experience ever. (And they had the best aid station grilled cheese!)

Worst running experience:
I ran a trail marathon in Ohio in December, and one of the creek crossings was completely flooded. We had to cross in water up to our waist...and it was below freezing. First and last time I ran that one!

Neatest thing found on a run:
A guy walking an elephant. When in Thailand...

Running pet peeves:
When running races in Europe it was guaranteed that I would get at the start line and there would be a bunch of European men without deodarant...and my head came up to just the right spot....

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I eat a lot of chocolate chip cookies and dough...lots...

Page last modified: 7/19/2020


You are viewing Marisa Novobilski’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home