Maria Brown

Club Member Since 1/2/2010

Send me a message

“Getting my butt kicked!”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Saucony Grid Size: 8

Age: 48.7 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Aaron(spouse), daughters Melania (Mar 97) and Gabriela (Apr 98), pets Sid (canine), Monk and Katrina (felines).

What I do for work:
I'm a student at UCCS

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Colorado Springs, for all the endless fun outdoor activities.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running track in the 7nd grade because I thought it might be a good idea to participate in extra curricular activites. Turns out it was a good idea.

What does running mean to me:
escape from everyday stressors

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
WWR 2007 and 2008, 2010 Pike's Peak Ascent

What I like about trail/mountain running:
the challenge

Favorite running trail and why:
Section 16, because it was one of the first trails I hiked when I arrived in Colorado Springs in May of 2007.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
thus far, 2010 Pike's Peak Ascent

Best running experience:
It took me a while to go from hiking to running, but the first time I ran section 16 was awsome because until then, I had no real uphill running experience.

Worst running experience:
can't think of one

Neatest thing found on a run:
A perfectly shaped, tiny, one foot tall pine tree right smack in the middle of a trail.

Running related bathroom stop story:
you don't want to know..

Running pet peeves:
can't think of one right now.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I was a saw-gunner for a while in the U.S. Army.

Other hobbies and interests:
hiking, reading, art, music, staying fit

Other stuff:
goal for 2011: Pike's Peak Marathon

Page last modified: 12/1/2010

You are viewing Maria Brown’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home