Marc Langille

Club Member Since 3/8/2010

Send me a message

Visit my website

Check out my Blog

City: Fayetteville State: AR

Favorite Shoe: Asics GT 2140 Size: 10.5

Age: 57.2 years old

Marital Status: pending

Family members:
Mom, Stepfather
Bother - Dan
Sister - Tiffany
Max and Mica - cats

What I do for work:
Information Technology; Photography

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Montreal,QC; Oxford,NS; Aylmer,QC; Ottawa/Kanata,ON; Battle Creek,MI; Fayetteville,AR. Fayetteville & region is a running mecca. The NCAA Track and Field program is the most successful in collegiate history with 40 national titles.

When I started running and what got me started:
Competitive CX runner in high school. Ran PR of 4:30 for the mile, 7:00 even for 1.5 miles.

What does running mean to me:
Running can let you be free of any constraints. Running is not just physical exercise: it's also a mental, emotional and spiritual journey.

Running accomplishments:
After competing in elite level cycling for several years, I returned to running in competitive 10K road races in Ottawa. I ran my first 10K after only 2 months into running, with a time of 39:30. Each subsequent 10K time dropped by 1 minute to a PR of 36:30 by my 4th 10K race. Best placing was 13th.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The climb, the view, the descent... as fun or as tough as you want to make it. The variety of terrain is awesome.

Favorite running trail and why:
Mountain trail: Barr Trail.
Flatland trail: Lake Fayetteville.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Pending... I am thinking Barr Trail is it though!

Best running experience:
Running 3:45 per km in a hilly 7.5km CX event in high school.
My PR in the 10K road race was precipated by a specific urge...
Discovered trail running on Barr Trail - what a great experience, even though I'd never run at altitude!

Worst running experience:
See best running experience. I like variety...
Otherwise when I was on track to hit 35:00 in a 10K but got the dreaded "stitches" and had to back off to finish in 36:30...

Neatest thing found on a run:
Coming across a small herd of deer on a run.

Running pet peeves:
Car drivers that don't yield the right of way or are agressive.
Irresponsible doggie owners.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I was a registered nurse for 7 years: both general surg and physical rehab (severe MVA's, burn victims casualties of war, quadriplegic and paraplegic injuries). Other things too - stay tuned!

Other hobbies and interests:
Mountain cycling, road cycling, reading, writing, hiking, canoeing, camping, horseback riding. Going off the grid every now and then - so far that only a satellite phone will work and you need to be self-sufficient.

Page last modified: 11/1/2010

You are viewing Marc Langille’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home