Larry Cohen

Club Member Since 11/28/2004

Send me a message

City: Colorado Springs State: Co

Favorite Shoe: Brooks Size: 10

Age: 67.6 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Wife - June
Son - Aron 24
Daughter - Ashleigh 21

What I do for work:
Emergency Physician

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
California, Texas, Missouri, D.C., United Kingdom

We love the mountains, the lifestyle of outdoor activities, health concious enviornment

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running 2-3 years ago. I used to hate running. I was a wrestler in high school. Hated the running part. 6 years ago at 5'6" and 196 pounds, I decided to loose weight. Joined a gym, changed my diet, mainly weight lifted. Lost 45 pounds. My wife liked to run and talked me into a few 5 k's. She wanted to do a marathon, I thought 26 miles was too far, so we started doing sprint triathlons. Then did a marathon. We enjoy doing both. It should be noted that I had alot of motivation for more cardiovascular excercise as I had a triple bypass Feb 2003. I did my first tri 4 months later and wound up doing 2 triathlons and 1 marathon within 1 year of the surgery. I was training for the first tri before surgery, and recovered very fast due to my fitness before surgery. Dropped another 12 pounds after surgery, and I run faster (but not very fast)

What does running mean to me:
It's something that helps reduce stress, I can do with my wife, and it helps keep me healthy.

Running accomplishments:
1 marathon, a bunch of 5 k's and 10 k's, 4 triathons (sprint and olympic distance). NOT LAST in any race!

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The scenery, varied terrain, smells, and general feel

Favorite running trail and why:
Barr right now, because it's the only one I've really run

Best running experience:
Phoenix ROck n Roll marathon

Worst running experience:
Same marathon (last 10K)

Neatest thing found on a run:
My heart disease

Running related bathroom stop story:
Not me, but I ran over someone else's refuse (definitely human)

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
Use to be a world class skydiver, sort of.

Other hobbies and interests:
Skiing, flying, skydiving

Page last modified: 11/28/2004

You are viewing Larry Cohen’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home