Kevin Carnahan

Club Member Since 1/12/2007

Send me a message

Kevin Carnahan - Starting the Ascent 2006
Starting the Ascent 2006

“My Starting Line is at 1000 Feet”

City: Suwanee State: GA

Favorite Shoe: Suggestions Welcome Size: 10

Age: 57 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Wife and Daughter.

What I do for work:
Project Manager at Facilities Management Engineering Consulting company.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Colorado - Western and Eastern Slopes.
Grew up in Wyoming.
Currently in Atlanta, GA area. I have a great job but I miss Colorado.

When I started running and what got me started:
2005. My wife and I decided to repeat a late 1987 Pikes Peak Ascent. (Yes, middle age brought it on but it could hardly be called a crisis.)

What does running mean to me:
Being healthy as I grow older.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Pikes Peak Ascent 1987 in 4:20 and again in 2006 in 4:58:59.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The level of difficulty and unique-ness of doing it from a low altitude state makes the ultra-early-morning-beat-the-Atlanta-traffic runs worth while.

Favorite running trail and why:
Outside my front door and down the road. There are two hills, one of about a quarter mile and the other of about a 1/2 mile with 8% grades. I've found longer climbs but no where in the general vicinity are there any good hills with that kind of grade.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
The Pikes Peak Ascent is the only trail run I've run.

Best running experience:
Last year's Ascent. I finished a conservatively run race (due to lack of recent experience) and finished with plenty left over. Looking forward to improving my Ascent time on the way to completing the marathon.

Worst running experience:
The first time I ran I was younger but did not train. I finished with a better time than my more recent outing but I was sore to the point of barely being able to walk for two weeks after.

Neatest thing found on a run:

Running related bathroom stop story:
Can't recall a story worth the telling.

Running pet peeves:

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
Couldn't tell ya'.

Other hobbies and interests:
Time with my wife and daughter.

Other stuff:
I've decided to limit my book reading to nothing that has been written in the last 30 years. When anyone can write a book and get it published its impossible to weed out the drivel until its withstood the test of time.

Page last modified: 1/20/2007

You are viewing Kevin Carnahan’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home