Kera Lewis

Club Member Since 3/18/2018

Visit my website

“Kera Lewis”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO Country: Uni

Favorite Shoe: Adidas Size: 9.5

Age: 58.6 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Rory Lewis (husband), Shaka (mastiff), Jabula (Great Dane) and Nandi (Border Collie mix).

What I do for work:
Myself - Kera Lewis Design (online marketing, PPC, SEM)

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Grew up in Wisconsin Dells, WI. Also lived in Minneapolis & St. Paul, Chicago, Seattle, Portland, Lahaina, Seward, Tempe, Province Town, Sacramento, Costa Mesa, Vail, Aspen, Estes Park, Denver and Boulder. I like the climate in COS and the trails and the husband that I found here (not necessarily in that order).

When I started running and what got me started:
Track and Cross Country in high school. I was better at running than the typical team sports. In my senior year a classmate took me to my first road race, The Freezeroo, in Madison, WI. Yes, it was a cold winter day, but I loved it!

What does running mean to me:
I sort of feel like I'm the same person that I was as a teenager or any other various times of my life when I'm out on a run. Clears the mind, meditation like.

Running accomplishments:
I finally placed in a race/race series in Colorado this year (2018) for my age group - the Winter Series (short). First place! Did a half Ironman in 2010, the PPA 2017 (after a 6 year break from running) and first place in my age group for the 50th Annual Wo-Zha-Wa 4 mile run in Wisconsin 2017 where I did my first half marathon in 1981. First place for that one, but I was the only one in my age group. Lol

What I like about trail/mountain running:
ESCAPE REALITY! The terrain makes you forget about the pain. No cars.

Favorite running trail and why:
The perimeter of Ute Park. Around 7 or so miles. It's near home and the terrain varies. I just love it.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
I don't know! I'll tell you later.

Best running experience:
Lots, have to think about that one.

Worst running experience:
Snowshoe (running?) race at Beaver Creek - in an aspen grove, one woman was holding up maybe 40 or 50 people with the slowest pace and no one had the guts to ask her to step aside. I was 20 people back and finally suggested she step aside. I think she let 4 people by. Then when the trail opened up, she bolted! -- ????

Running pet peeves:
Racers that are unaware of people wanting to pass.

Other hobbies and interests:
Skate and telemark skiing. Mountain biking (need to do more).

Other stuff:
Training for Imogene this year (2018). Supporting my husband in his first PPA.

Page last modified: 3/18/2018

You are viewing Kera Lewis’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home