Kelly Simshauser

Club Member Since 4/14/2009

Send me a message

City: Florence State: Co

Favorite Shoe: NorthFace Size: 71/2

Age: 52.3 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Husband (Rich) 2 daughters (Kylie 6) & (Kaylee 3)
1 dog (Rope)
5 horses (Ben, Justy, Dollar, Dunny & Stick)

What I do for work:
Construction, but stay at home mom now.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Always been in Colorado. I like it down in Florence because its warmer then Woodland Park (where I have lived my whole life) I'm right next to the Wet Mtns. and have national forest all around .

When I started running and what got me started:
I've always loved to run mostly for fun. High school with track & cross country then after that just because. I'm kinda like a kid in a toy store when I'm out running the trails. I don't really like to road run though.

What does running mean to me:
It means a feeling of freedom and release from the caos of everyday living. It also means that I can keep moving and refrain form ever being a couch potato : 0 ) !!

Running accomplishments:
I currently have none. However I have registered for the TCR this year (09) and I hope to have a great accomplishment.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I love the fresh air, the challenge that the mountains and terrain offer, and the beauty of the outdoors.

Favorite running trail and why:
I have to say the trails by High Drive (can't remember the name) and section 16. I have run there a lot, and love the steep hills and all the rocks its a challenge (especially if you make it that way)

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Although I've never run it all the way, the Ascent because it is a test of persiverence(sp?) and will, between you and the mountain.

Best running experience:
They all are to me, this could change after the TCR is over.

Worst running experience:
Only had one really I was running up in Cheyenne Canon above High Drive and it started to rain (which wasn't the bad part) it was the lightening I have never run down so fast in my life it was hitting really close the flash and the boom were all at the same time, I've been electricuted before (by a 7200v powerline) and still here to tell about it, soooo lightening and I don't mix well I'm scared of it.

Neatest thing found on a run:
I found a full set of elk antlers 5 x 6. It was cool but really hard to run and carry them to :0) !

Running related bathroom stop story:
Other then just having to go really bad because of something I ate, and not having any napkins or etc. I guess I haven't had a terrible one......yet!

Running pet peeves:
When people don't clean up after their dogs, and people that don't know the rules of the trails.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
That I can operate heavy equipment.

Other hobbies and interests:
Before having kids I used to race mtn. bikes I still ride though, I love to rock climb, I also team rope (in rodeos) and an artist. I'll try anything once.

Other stuff:
I'm trying to learn how to train right for the Ascent, hence one of the reasons I found this website, that and you guys would be fun to run with. :0)

Page last modified: 12/3/2010

You are viewing Kelly Simshauser’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home