Kees Guijt

Club Member Since 1/12/2000

Send me a message

Kees Guijt - Don't look too serious!
Don't look too serious!

“One foot in front of the other one, Repeat. ”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: price*weight=low Size: fits

Age: 54.8 years old

Marital Status: MARRIED!?!?!?!

Family members:
My wife Lisa and my family back in the homeland.

What I do for work:
What work? This is about running.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Katwijk, the Netherlands/Holland/Dutch (YES it is close to Amsterdam, and NO that does not make me Danish).
Colorado Springs; more sun, less rain, higher mountains.
California, and of all places; the Mojave desert; too much sun, no rain at all.
Back to Colorado Springs which I found out is a pretty nice place to live.

When I started running and what got me started:
1997, started to be more serious in 2000, trying to loose excessive weight and fight obesity.

What does running mean to me:
Think about food but especially burritos with green chili for the entire run.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Have a fast running dog named after me: Kees Ronas! Set a PR in a snowstorm while not getting younger these days.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
A 10 minute mile is cooking!

Favorite running trail and why:
Incline, Longs, A-frame to the top. They are so steep and keep on going, that I wonder why it is my favorite too.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Ascent, to finish up there is so cool!

Best running experience:
Giving Matt a hard time about 0.000001% of our runs.

Worst running experience:
Smelling diesel fumes mixed with raunchy donut oil when you are just trying to get it over with.

Neatest thing found on a run:

Running related bathroom stop story:
Actually, no stories at all. Drink enough coffee to empty out before the run.

Running pet peeves:
Why do those announcers have to butcher my last name every single time?

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I used to windsurf a lot, and hated running.

Other hobbies and interests:
The next few years I might run a lot less, but play a lot more in the ocean.

Page last modified: 1/31/2015

You are viewing Kees Guijt’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home