Kathy Porter

Club Member Since 10/16/2005

Send me a message

“Love running down trails.”

City: Littleton State: CO

Favorite Shoe: None Size: 7-1/2

Age: 62.6 years old

Marital Status: single

Family members:
2 cats, 1 roommate.

What I do for work:
Legal secretary

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I grew up in South Florida for the majority of my life. Also lived in Phoenix for 3 years and summer there was just as bad. Like living in sunny climates. Summer is great in Colorado. I never felt like running in a hot humid climate except for winter time. Able to run more in this cooler, dryer climate.

When I started running and what got me started:
Am an amateur runner. My first running race was a downhill race in Arizona which I did because I was with some bicyclist friends who talked me into doing it. I came in 1st for my age group (but it was a very small group of runners). I started running downhill in Colorado after I got into hiking and found it was easier running downhills than hiking. Still need to hike most uphill portions.

What does running mean to me:
Trail running is a fun, spiritual experience. I love being on trails close to nature as opposed to city running.

Running accomplishments:
Did the Slacker 1/2 marathon 3 times. Also have done the Autumn Run 1/2 and Tucson 1/2.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Solitude, beauty, easier on legs/knees.

Favorite running trail and why:
Mt. Elbert - because it is smooth and challenging.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Haven't done many races. Slacker is fun because it is downhill.

Best running experience:
I liked running the Frisco 10k in June - mostly downhill.

Other hobbies and interests:
Road biking. That is why I don't have as much time to run.

Page last modified: 12/15/2005

You are viewing Kathy Porter’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home