Kat Orekhova

Club Member Since 5/15/2009

Send me a message

“Don't be afraid to try.”

City: New York State: NY

Favorite Shoe: Asics Size: 8

Age: 34.3 years old

Family members:
2 parents, 3 younger brothers, 1 fiance, 1 cat.

What I do for work:
Graduate student in mathematics.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I've traveled so often that I will call just about any hostel my "home" for the night, but the places that have meant the most to me are: Moscow, New York, Oxford, Uppsala, and Albuquerque. In summer 2009, I'm spending 7 weeks in Colorado Springs, and I think this will go on the list as well.

When I started running and what got me started:
2005 - my boyfriend (now my fiance) introduced me to running and orienteering.

What does running mean to me:
A way to have fun, to give me a sense of purpose, and to stay healthy.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Finished Pikes Peak Ascent, 2008, 3:44:09
10th woman in the 2007 La Luz Trail Run, 2:02:09
4th woman in the 2007 Sandia Peak Challenge (Keith Howard 7.2 mile mountain race)
US Orienteering Team

Favorite running trail and why:
Pino trail (Albuquerque). It's steep and goes all the way to the crest, but has some nice rollercoaster sections and is mostly shaded. It's a beautiful trail.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
La Luz Trail Run - it was the first one I signed up, and it was what motivated me to start running uphills in the first place. It changed my life.

Page last modified: 5/15/2009

You are viewing Kat Orekhova’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home