Karen Monk

Club Member Since 1/14/2003

Send me a message

Karen Monk

“I think I can, I think I can, I think I can....I thought I could, I thought I could”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Mizuno

Age: 53.9 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Husband - John, Kids - Michaela, Connor and McKenna, Dogs - Kyler and Cookie

What I do for work:
Horse Trainer at Hunter Run Farm in Monument

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Too many to mention, but Colorado is definitely my favorite home. It's impossible to be bored here if you like the outdoors!

When I started running and what got me started:
Started again at the 2001 Fall Series after quitting my desk job to stay home with the kids. Running just takes less time than biking. (I was a Mountain Bike racer in my previous life.)

What does running mean to me:

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
1st Place in my age group in the Fall Series for 2001 and 2002. Successfully completed the Barr Trail Race in 2002.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Better scenery than road running, interesting terrain, feels like mountain biking!

Worst running experience:
2002 Winter Series at Fox Run Park - freezing cold with snow pack and ice. I had no traction on my shoes and I could hardly breathe with my asthma acting up. Plus I fell on the very last turn to the finish, ripping my new tights, bloodying my knee up quite a bit. Very glad when it was over.

Neatest thing found on a run:
How strong I can be.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I love watching Survivor.

Other hobbies and interests:
Showing Horses

You are viewing Karen Monk’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home