John O'Rourke

Club Member Since 8/22/2010

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: asics Size: 12

Age: 52.9 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
My wife Jennie and 2 daughters - 9 and 5 as of 2010

What I do for work:
Engineering Manager at Atmel

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Born and raised in Philadelphia. Great weather and people here, miss the ocean though..

When I started running and what got me started:
The Army definately got me started. I've been going up the incline since 1992, and consistantly for the past 10 yrs about 3x per month. Love it, and I've grown to love trail running.

What does running mean to me:
Great way to take care of the body and take time for myself.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
4 ascents as of 2010, some other triple crown races. 2 marathons.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Solitude, trees and variety.

Favorite running trail and why:
Barr trail - because it's close to home.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
PPA, it's the only one I have run. I'd be open to others.

Best running experience:
2-mile Army runs when there has been competition. I've never considered myself a fast guy but used to run 2-miles in under 11:00.

Worst running experience:
I entered the Ascent in about 2000 and turned around on my own at treeline. Poor training or just a bad day...

Running related bathroom stop story:
ha, lots of them

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
Former Special Forces guy and retird Sergeant Major from he reserves.

Page last modified: 4/25/2016

You are viewing John O'Rourke’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home