John Monk

Club Member Since 1/19/2003

Send me a message

John Monk - What, Me Worry?
What, Me Worry?

“Don't Worry About the Pain, You'll Pass Out Before You Die!”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Brooks, Asics Size: 11

Age: 52.2 years old

Marital Status: Happily Married

Family members:
4 other athletes - Karen, Michaela, Connor, McKenna
1 Border Collie/Cattle Dog mix (Cookie) - an AWSOME running companion
1 Doberman (Kyler) - Retired from running due to age

What I do for work:
Sit for seemingly endless hours in front of a computer.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
The outdoors in Texas is way too hostile (fire ants, scorpions, etc), Kansas is way too boring (unless your favorite sport is shopping, eating, or spectator sports). Colorado is my idea of heaven...

When I started running and what got me started:
I've been riding bikes competitively since 1992. I needed a change, so I started running again about 6 months ago.

What does running mean to me:
Its part of my lifestyle. I have to be outside - running, riding, hiking - it doesn't matter. It gives me a chance to relax and think creatively.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Being in the woods is more interesting than being on a road.

Favorite running trail and why:
Incline, Barr Trail - When I finish, I always feel like I've accomplished something.

Best running experience:
Any race where I feel like I've done my best.

Worst running experience:
Any race where I feel like I haven't prepared properly. Or bonk. Bonking is really the pits!

Running pet peeves:
Dog owners who can't control their animals!

Other hobbies and interests:
I'm a wannabe adventure racer!

You are viewing John Monk’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home