John Gnazzo

Club Member Since 9/4/2007

Send me a message

John Gnazzo - This is me!!!
This is me!!!

“Back in the saddle again”

City: Pubik Bay State: MN

Favorite Shoe: Barefoot is Kewl!!!

Age: 61.2 years old

Marital Status: Happily

Family members:

What I do for work:
I manage to look busy most of the time.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I have lived in
San Diego, CA
Aurora, CO
Hazelwood, MO
Yonkers, NY
Wakefield, MA
Gillette, WY
Minnetonka, MN
It seems I am an adventurous soul.

When I started running and what got me started:
Around 26 when I was challenged to do a mini-triathlon

What does running mean to me:
The feeling of accomplishment and being fit

Running accomplishments:
'83 St. Louis Marathon
'83/84 St. Louis Triathlons
3 half Marathons
Numerous 5K, 5mi, 10K, 15K etc. races
I once came in third place in a sparsely populated 5K

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I love the randomness of nature.

Favorite running trail and why:
Front door to trail head. It all starts and ends there.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Leadville 100 - Someday I will do this
I also envision the potential of competing in a 500 or 1000 mile contest. Is this possible?

Best running experience:
I ran my fastest 4 mile run before my wedding day.

Worst running experience:
When running a 5 mile road race in Downtown St. Louis, I became ill and had to limp in.

Neatest thing found on a run:
Things generally do not interest me, however I have made many friends during and after runs and races.

Running related bathroom stop story:
I was running in the St. Louis 1/2 marathon in 1983. I had to go to the bathroom at the 7 mile mark. The bathrooms on the route at the half way point were 4 portapotties with a 5-10 person line in front of each. I quickly left the course and went behind a house and did a quick #1. A few fellow racers, unfortunately all male, followed me in.

Running pet peeves:
Having to use the bathroom, tree, bush, etc., during a run. It seems like any race greater than 10K requires at least 1 pit stop.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I used to weigh close to 300 pounds

Other hobbies and interests:
Golfing sometimes I run between shots if pace permits. Watching my kids play sports.

Other stuff:
I like to eat 5-6 meals a day. My favorite staples are 100% bran cereal with Silk Soy Milk, or Oatmeal with raisens for breakfast. A salad for Lunch 1 and 2. Fish (Sardines, Kipper Snacks or Tuna) with salad for Dinner, and Peanut butter for bedtime. Oh I also love coffee and diet Mountain Dew.
My favorite movie is "Being There" with Peter Sellers. It seems to me to mimic what life is really about :)

Page last modified: 12/25/2007

You are viewing John Gnazzo’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home