Jennifer Stock

Club Member Since 11/16/2008

Send me a message

Jennifer Stock

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Salomon Size: 10.5

Age: 49.4 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Husband: Greg; Horse: George; Cats: Figaro and Winslow

What I do for work:
Attorney, criminal defense and some civil. I really don't like to think about my job too much on the weekends.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I grew up in Urbana, Illinois, went to college in Vermont, spent my junior year abroad in London, and settled in Batavia, Illinois after law school. Greg and I moved to Colorado Springs in May, 2008. Several years ago we decided that life in the Chicago suburbs was not for us and it would be great to live in a place where we would want to take a vacation. This was after coming back from several vacations with me stating "I hate where we live" on the drive home from Midway or O'hare through the western suburbs of Chicago. Greg got a job at UCCS and we could not be happier with Colorado. We love the small amount of traffic, and easy access to downtown. This is a runners heaven with all of the parks and trails in which to run. We are very much looking forward to a winter where we will not have several weeks where the temperature does not get above zero. It is so nice to live in an area with some culture such as a movie theater that shows independent and foreign movies, as well as more choices for restaurants than simply Italian. Finally, the scenery, we just love the scenery. It will be nice to want to come home after a vacation.

When I started running and what got me started:
At some point in grade school, 5th or 6th grade, I just started going out and running an out and back mile from my house. I can not recall why I started, I just always liked to run. In high school I joined the track team and quickly discovered that runners were the nicest group of people.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The peace, quiet and scenery. I love not having mile markers and not worrying about pace, just running whatever my legs feel like doing.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
I really liked both races on the Barr Trail that I ran last year, the Barr Trail Mountain Race and Pikes Peak Marathon (although I really would like to see a "Descent") I also enjoyed the Blue Sky 50K that I ran in October up in Ft. Collins, which was my first 50K. The Barr Trail races I like just because I was so familiar with that trail after training on it for 9 months that it was nice to race on it. It's also fun to run downhill for 7 and 13 miles respectively. The Ft. Collins race went through lots of interesting terrain and had some good hills that I felt prepared for after training for Pikes Peak.

Best running experience:
First run with the club this year. A year ago all of the hills just killed me and I ended up walking pretty much all of the uphills. This year I was able to keep jogging up those hills and felt good. What a difference a year of training can make!

Worst running experience:
Tecumseh Trail Marathon. This was my first experience trail running, and it was a marathon. My legs have never hurt like they did after this race. And they hurt immediately, not just the next day. Oh, the agony!

Other hobbies and interests:
I have a horse, George, whom I board at Academy Riding Stables, so Garden of the Gods is my regular riding area. For a girl from Illinois, this is heaven. No bareback riding the day before a race, I've got to force myself to use a saddle.

Other stuff:
Right now I want to get my speed (such as it is) back. I got so slow training for THE marathon last year by only slowly jogging/walking uphill that this winter I plan on teaching my legs to move faster again.

Page last modified: 11/29/2009

You are viewing Jennifer Stock’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home