Jay Hillis

Club Member Since 11/10/2009

City: Fayette State: AL

Age: 61.9 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Janie (spouse)
Andrew & Nathan (sons)

What I do for work:
Professor of Psychology and Speech Communication

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Florence Alabama is my real home, married and moved to Fayette.

When I started running and what got me started:
Guess I have ran all my life, never known to be out of shape.

What does running mean to me:

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Haven't missed a day of running since May 11, 1981.
Finished the Pikes Peak Marathon in 2009.
Plan on doing the double in 2010.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Enjoy being away from the normal.

Favorite running trail and why:
Few trails around house...can run for miles without ever meeting anyone.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
MUST be the Pikes Peak.

Best running experience:
Finished 3rd in a mile invitational with a field of elite runners, the race was right before kickoff of a high school football game with over 10,000 people.

Worst running experience:
Downhill of Pikes Peak...never dreamed that the downhill would cause so much pain and agony.

Neatest thing found on a run:
money, tools, baseball hitting stick

Other stuff:
Would love to retire and have a summer house in the Pikes Peak region.

Page last modified: 11/10/2009

You are viewing Jay Hillis’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home