Dustin Kessinger

Club Member Since 12/20/2018


City: Parker State: CO

Age: 35.2 years old

Family members:
April and Boo - Rescue cats

What I do for work:
IT Support

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Born and raised in central Illinois and moved to Colorado in 2014 after apparently one too many family summer vacations to see the mountains.

When I started running and what got me started:
I first started running in the fall of 2003 after being challenged to a half marathon the following May. During those months when people called me a runner, my response was that I was just impersonating a runner as I had been challenged to a race and didn't yet realize I enjoyed it. After the race, I intended to take a couple weeks off and then run casually on occasion. During the first week, I didn't feel complete without running and realized at that point, I had become an actual runner.

What does running mean to me:
Running is my main way to decompress after work. It gives me an opportunity to be active and to clear my mind at the same time.

Running accomplishments:
Completed 7 Half Marathons with a PR of 1:47:52
Completed first Full Marathon in 2018 in 3:54:00

Running pet peeves:
When coming to the finish of a race, those that instantly stop moving as soon as they cross the finish line. I've nearly taken out a few people that have done that right in front of me as I'm sprinting across the line.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
Anyone that knows me, eventually finds out that prior to moving to Colorado, I was an amateur race driver for about 15 years. Once someone gets to know me a little bit, it's no surprise anymore though.

Other hobbies and interests:
I spend many summer weekends hiking and camping. I've completed 35 of the 14ers with hopes of finishing the remaining 23 by the summer of 2020. Besides the outdoors, I'm a casual Rockies/Broncos/Avs fan and a lifelong auto racing fan (primarily Indycar).

Other stuff:
Currently registered for my 2nd Full Marathon in April 2018 out in Las Vegas with plans of also doing my 3rd in June, and perhaps attempting Pikes Peak in August as my first trail race.

I would like to get my full PR under 3:30 now that I've experienced one and half PR under 1:40 (both on road). Just getting into trail so no goals there other than enjoying it.

Page last modified: 12/20/2018


You are viewing Dustin Kessinger’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home