Devin Allen

Club Member Since 11/20/2001

Send me a message

Devin Allen

“Suffering at the 2002 PPA”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Nike Size: 9

Age: 54.2 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Wife Leslie, Sons Orry ('95) and Ross ('98)

What I do for work:
Manage Corporate Fitness Centers

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Gilchrist, Oregon; Eugene, Oregon; Monmouth, Oregon; Memphis, Tennessee; Colorado Springs

When I started running and what got me started:
Junior High - 1978

What does running mean to me:
Freedom from the insanity of the everyday world.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
Many, many 5K's and 10K's when I was young;
PPA - 2001 and 2002; Crater Lake Half-Marathon - 1982
Many long runs during adventure races, 2002-2004

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Solitude, silence, the beauty

Favorite running trail and why:
Fawn Lake trail near Crescent Lake in Oregon's Cascade Mountains; Stanky Creek trail in Bartlett, TN.
Elk Park trail

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Have only done the PPA twice so not much to compare with.

Best running experience:
The running portion of the Adventure Extreme adventure race in Breckenridge, '03. From Breck we went up and over Peak 8(?) all the way down to Copper Ski area.

Worst running experience:
The last 200 meters of the '02 Ascent - pushed too hard trying to be under 3:06 and had to get help to the oxygen area. Otherwise, one of my best running experiences.

Neatest thing found on a run:
Bonding. I didn't know it then, but running 10K's with my Dad as a teenager was great for our relationship (a recent discovery).

Running related bathroom stop story:
Ummmmm, really?

Running pet peeves:
Horse poop (also a MTB'ing pet peeve - dog owners are required to clean up after their pets in city parks, why not horse owners?)

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I do an extremely poor rendition of Billy Joel's "Piano Man."

Other hobbies and interests:
Mountain biking is #1 for me; climbing 14'ers, camping, volleyball, fishing, adventure racing, snowboarding, H20 skiing, teaching my boys how to do all of the above.

Other stuff:
Even though I live in the Springs, I've been a virtual (non-running) member for the last couple of years. But I do enjoy the newsletter and check the website regularly!

Page last modified: 12/14/2005

You are viewing Devin Allen’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home