Derek Griffiths

Club Member Since 1/28/2003

Send me a message

Derek Griffiths - Summit Trail Running Series, Peak 8
Summit Trail Running Series, Peak 8

"To Give Anything Less Than Your Best Is To Sacrifice The Gift" - Pre

City: Littleton State: CO

Favorite Shoe: LaSportiva Raceblade Size: 12

Age: 46.1 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Jessica (Wife)
Alex (Son)
Lucy (Siberian Huskey)

What I do for work:
I am the publisher of Colorado Runner, a magazine devoted to running in the state of Colorado. We also cover New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I was born and raised in a small town in southern Ohio called Washington Court House. I lived there for most of my life. I went to college at Kent State near Cleveland, and then to Grad school in Dayton, OH. While in grad school, I spent 3 months in Napa, CA. After Grad school, my wife and I moved to Medford, OR and then I moved to Eureka, CA for a job. Needless to say, that sucked for the relationship. But, it was for only 3 months because my wife took an outstanding job back in OH! Since I love the mountains, I was kinda pissed about it, but it was close to our families and we got to be together again. We lived in Cincinnati for 3 years before Jessica took a better job in Denver.

I love Denver because of the mountains, plain and simple. I also love the weather. I hated Midwestern summers and winters because of the extreme heat and humidity and the extreme cold that seemed to last forever! I also love all of the trails I can run from home and work without having to drive 30 miles to get to one. I used to drive 30 miles out of the way coming home from work so that I could run a 5k loop trail over and over again. It was an awesome trail, but 5k over and over again, gets boring after a while, especially when you do it 3-4 times a week.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running in junior high because it was the only sport in the spring. I stuck with it because I was better at it than football and basketball and baseball (the 3 sports that you do I rural OH).

What does running mean to me:
Running is a great way to meet people and make new friends. It also allows my wife and I to see the country (by trail running in different places). My father and I are doing a marathon in all the states. This is a great way for us to stay close and catch up on things since he still lives in OH.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
I was 2nd in the indoor mile at the Mid American Conference Champs in college. I have completed 52 marathons in 35 states and 3 countries. I have also run 2 ultras (50K). My wife and I did the Venice Marathon on our honeymoon.

800 - 1:49i (Indoor MAC Meet, Kent, OH 1997)
1500 - 3:52:43 (Sea Ray Relays, Knoxville, TN 1997)
5000 - 15:25 (Summer Race Series, Middletown, OH
10000 - 32:30 (Minster Oktoberfest 10K, Minster, OH 1999)
1/2 Marathon - 72:05 (KY Derby Festival, Louisville, KY 2001)
Marathon - 2:41:07 (Flying Pig, Cincinnati, OH 2003)

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I love trail running because of the beauty of the outdoors. There is no other way to describe the scenery of trails then simply awesome. It is also good on the legs. It allows you to run more miles without getting injured.

Favorite running trail and why:
I live in Ken Caryl Valley in Littleton and train mostly on those trails. I can connect with Deer Creek Open Space making for a 30 mile or more trail run with out repeating. This is really nice to have right outside your doorstep.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
The Summit Trail Series in Breckenridge is a great series of low key trail events in the summer. The BTMR has the best compatition in the country and is one of the best organized events as well.

Best running experience:
One of my best running experiences was leading the 3:15 pace group at the 2002 Columbus Marathon. I had never lead a pace group before, so I didn't know what I was getting into. We started out with about 40 people and of those 40, I think 20 made it in just under 3:16 (and qualified for Boston), including myself at 3:15:40. It was really fun to try and hold them back for the first 20 miles and then try and push them through the last 10K.

Worst running experience:
I have only ever dropped out of 1 race. I had been training for 4 months to try and run 2:30 at the Green Bay Marathon. I new I was in shape to do it, but I was stupid. I started running with the lead women, and they were surging the whole race. It was 75 degrees at the start, so that didn't help either. At 17 miles, I was shot. So I had to drop out. Then I had to listen to my Dad the whole drive home talk about how he finished, and I didn't. Luckily, I had already done a marathon in WI, because I would have hated to have to go back by myself, just to get the state in.

Neatest thing found on a run:
I once passed a couple having sex on a park bench in the middle of a run. That was really weird.

Running related bathroom stop story:
I have never had some horrible bathroom stop stories. Just your typical running into McDonalds in the middle of a run.

Running pet peeves:
I hate it when I see people hike on the trails with their dogs not on a leash. Then, when the dog runs after you, they just yell "He doesn't Bite!" Sure he doesn't. Why don't they just train the dog to stay with them, or keep them on a leash?

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I played the trombone in middle and high school.

Other hobbies and interests:
Hiking, Computers, TV

Page last modified: 12/25/2007

You are viewing Derek Griffiths’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home