David Scalfri

Club Member Since 4/18/2009

Send me a message

David Scalfri - My friend Tim and I on Grays Peak
My friend Tim and I on Grays Peak

“Live your dreams, Never give up!”

City: Colorado Springs State: Co

Favorite Shoe: Brooks Adrenaline Size: 10.5

Age: 58.8 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Married with two children

What I do for work:
Top Secret

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Born in Kenosha, Wisconsin
Lived in Waxahachie, Texas
Became a naturalized Colorado native in 1976

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running in 2002 when a friend encouraged me to experience Pikes Peak.

What does running mean to me:
Running means enjoying our great Colorado playground with friends or spending time alone and having time to clear my mind and think about things that really matter. Family, friends, etc. Having the ability to run is a gift.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
2005 Pikes Peak Doubler

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I love running and hiking on trails because it takes me to a quiet place away from everything that is busy. I like the "dirt-line" when I take my socks off after a trail run!

Favorite running trail and why:
Barr Trail is my favorite trail. Pikes Peak was my first 14er. (Currently 23 summits) There is something special about Pikes Peak and the Barr trail. Everyone is always in a good mood up there.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Pikes Peak Marathon and Barr Trail Mountain Race. Why? Because gravity is my friend!!

Best running experience:
There is always something unique that happens on each run which qualifies it as a best, but the 2008 bear experience ranks as THE BEST!

Worst running experience:
2006 Pikes Peak Marathon. 3 hours of interrupted sleep and I remember sitting on the edge of the bed saying "there's no way!" Set a record for my worst PPM time, but gave it my best!

Neatest thing found on a run:

Running related bathroom stop story:
A lot of Gatorade = A lot of stops!

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I used to weigh... a lot more than I do now!

Other hobbies and interests:
Currently have 11 14ers in the bag (including 28 Pikes Peaks)and hope to add several others.

Page last modified: 5/7/2017

You are viewing David Scalfri’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home