Dave Sorenson

Club Member Since 3/25/2000

Send me a message

Dave Sorenson - I shouldn't have eaten that pizza last night.
I shouldn't have eaten that pizza last night.

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Asics Size: 11

Age: 66.9 years old

Marital Status: Married (since 3/20/1982)

Family members:
Wife - Kwang-Chi
Daughters - Annette and Jennifer

What I do for work:
Computer programmer

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Born and raised in Oregon (Portland area). Lived in San Jose for 10+ years. Have lived in Colorado Springs since 1993. We moved to Colorado Springs because it was getting too crowded and expensive in San Jose. It's been a pleasure to call Colorado Springs home. The weather is great, the mountains are beautiful, work has been steady (cross your fingers), the schools are several levels better than where we lived in San Jose, and the size of the city is just about right.

When I started running and what got me started:
Started and stopped off and on in the late 70s, mainly for weight control. Made it a regular routine in the early 80s.

What does running mean to me:
The exercise makes me feel better and I come back refreshed from a run. It's a time to think and sort out whatever is on my mind, or just daydream. Everybody needs some daydreaming time.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results

What I like about trail/mountain running:
You don't have to worry about getting smacked by a car. The scenery is spectacular. The people you meet on the trail/mountain are always more friendly and cheerful than those you meet during an urban run.

Favorite running trail and why:
It's hard to beat the scenery of Waldo Canyon, and the whole thing is runnable. I also enjoy Bear Creek Park and the Pikes Peak Greenway trail because they are very accessible to me. There is a trailhead across the street from my house that leads into Bear Creek Park. If I want to do hills, I'll stay in Bear Creek Park. If I want flats, I'll take the connection to the Pikes Peak Greenway trail.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Pikes Peak Marathon because of the camaraderie of all the participants and volunteers.

Best running experience:
Anytime I'm able to see and greet other runners on the trail. I especially enjoy running down the last couple miles of Barr Trail and giving encouragement to runners, walkers, and hikers that are on their way up the trail. It's really fun to give encouragement and pay a compliment to somebody who is struggling a bit. You'll almost always receive a grateful smile. It's also fun to get motivated by the actions of others. The dedication and hard work by other runners is inspiring. You have 66 year-old grandmother Margie who keeps on going, no matter what. You have the Alvares kids (Joey and Kita) who are in grade school, and are more dedicated to training than most adults. And you have all the others who go out there and enjoy our backyard. I'm in awe of all of you.

Neatest thing found on a run:
It wasn't something that I found, but was something that happened. A friend and I were running after work in California on a beautiful fall evening. I started to lose my balance and couldn't figure out what was wrong. I looked over to my friend and he also was losing his balance. We both stopped at the same time and then realized that we were in the middle of a major earthquake. The ground was rolling, parked cars were shaking like crazy, utility poles and trees were swaying. We cut our run short so we could get back to our families. This was the Loma Prieta earthquake in 1989 (the one during the World Series between the San Francisco Giants and Oakland A's.)

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
Many, many moons ago, I was a Chinese linguist in the Air Force.

Other hobbies and interests:
Whatever the family is doing.

Page last modified: 12/21/2004

You are viewing Dave Sorenson’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home