Dan Smoker

Club Member Since 12/15/2002

Send me a message

Dan Smoker - Me and my daughter, Savanna, at the 2001 Firecracker.
Me and my daughter, Savanna, at the 2001 Firecracker.

Favorite Shoe: Anything big enough! Size: 13+

Age: 56.8 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
My wife, Michelle, and Savanna (shown in photo), Skylar (4 yr. old).

What I do for work:
Major Accident Unit Detective - CSPD

When I started running and what got me started:
I loved lifting weights but they didn't love me. Started running in April 2001.

What does running mean to me:

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
6 Triathlons in my first year and never placed last!

What I like about trail/mountain running:
It's very... difficult! New Challenges makes life exciting!

Worst running experience:
My 1st triathlon was in Avon, Co, 2001. I had seriously undertrained and was over confident in my abilities, especially at that elevation. The swim wasn't bad (800y), but the bike was where it became worse. I was thinking, "Climb like Lance" until I was a mere 1/2 mile from the bottom of an 1,800 foot climb. I'd had my new bike for 10 days now and didn't know that climbing was different than coasting around the block a couple of times. I did end up finishing the bike and the run and managed to have everyone feeling sorry for me. After 4 days, I was able to stand without throwing up. I've been hooked on triathlons ever since!!!

Other stuff:
I want to complete the 2003 Ascent and to finish an Ironman.

You are viewing Dan Smoker’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home