Dale Schauer

Club Member Since 4/2/2005

Send me a message

"sustain your gain despite the pain"

City: Colorado Springs State: Co

Favorite Shoe: Mizuno wave Size: 11.5

Age: 65.8 years old

Marital Status: married

Family members:
Linda(spouse), Nick(38 yr old Marine Corp. 2001-2005; IT career), Joshua( autistic son deceased in 2009); David(31 year old son, married and has three daughters, we ran the Pike's Peak Ascent together in 2004). Julia ( 29 year old daughter married and has two children)

What I do for work:
I am a marriage and family therapist in private practice since 1980.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Peoria,Il; Milwaukee,WI; Minneapolis,MN; Los Angeles,CA; Colorado Springs,Co. Clean mountain air can't be beat!

When I started running and what got me started:
Past 15 years, but more consistently the last two years.

What does running mean to me:
It's an outlet for stress relief, and a wonderful way to stay young and fit and meet some great friends.

Running accomplishments: View my Pikes Peak Ascent/Marathon results
7 Bolder Boulders, 7triple crown, 7 Ascents,2 Marathons(Am. Discovery Trail and Pikes Peak Marathon) and 2 Half Marathons( Georgetown and Air Force Academy).

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The beauty and the challenge

Favorite running trail and why:
Red Rocks, section 16 and Barr trail all beautiful and challenging

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
ADT Marathon when it ran from Palmer Lake down through the Air Force Academy... Then in 2005 I ran the Pikes Peak Marathon (the 50th running when I turned 50!!)

Best running experience:
Same as above... the ADT Marathon. To finish a Marathon is INCREDIBLE!

Worst running experience:
a Bolder Boulder several years ago when I was very sick

Neatest thing found on a run:
Fresh Bear poop... and I was running alone!

Running related bathroom stop story:
Too much gas during the long Marathon training runs.

Running pet peeves:
People expecting a verbal hello when I am completely unable to speak and don't want to anyway. Raising my index finger should suffice I think.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
Drank a Guiness in Enya's Dad's Pub in Ireland last July,2004

Other hobbies and interests:
Golf,skiing,backpacking,gardening, tennis at Lifetime Fitness and will complete another triple crown running this year... Iíll be 65 on the 65th running of the Pikes Peak AsCent/Marathon!!)

Other stuff:
Hal Higdon's training tips for Marathon training was very helpful. And of course, Matt's Mountain training tips for Pike's Peak are the best. The Jerk and Braveheart are two of my favorite movies. My wife and I love traveling in Europe(Italy is our favorite).

Page last modified: 1/11/2020

You are viewing Dale Schauer’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home