Christopher Chromczak

Club Member Since 3/22/2016


“Christopher Chromczak”

City: Delmar State: NY

Favorite Shoe: Hoka One One Hauka Size: 10.5

Age: 34.5 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Emily,Sophie,Eddie, Schatzi & Whiskers

What I do for work:
Stay at Home Brew Dad, Handyman, Home Inspector.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
East Greenbush/Rensselaer,NY... Windham/Hunter NY...Delmar, NY-- reasonable drive to both the Catskills, Adirondacks, Berkshires and Greens. Great running community. Happy to have the rail trail in my backyard. Decent training hills within 20 minute drive.

When I started running and what got me started:
Middle School cross country- didn't make the soccer team, and one of my teachers encouraged me to join.

What does running mean to me:
It's a lifestyle. Life is short, do what makes you happy. I enjoy running's challenges, structure, community and health benefits.

Running accomplishments:
2:50 Marathon MHRM 2006
6:57 JFK 50 2006
23:18 VT100 2008
Rim to Rim to Rim Grand Canyon July 2007

What I like about trail/mountain running:
I like how, for most, it requires a different type of training. Someone who is great at road and flat stuff might not be so great on trails and mountains. I seem to do well with trail and mountain running, and so it makes me feel good.

Favorite running trail and why:
Haven't found a favorite yet.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Escarpment 30k. Partially because it is one of the original tough races in my area where trail running legends battle it out, it's no frills and the RD is a great person. I've been running it consecutively since 2003 so it's also partially tradition. This race is probably the one that has kept me trail running.

Best running experience:
Watching my offspring run trails. I hope they will like running and exploring trails as much as their parents. It will be fun to travel to races with them and compete and train with them as they get older.

Worst running experience:
Nipmuck marathon 2004/2005? Out of shape for a hot and humid June trail marathon. I hate that race.

Neatest thing found on a run:
A lost dog. "Sudds", a 13 y/o Alaskan Samoyed lost for 6 days in the Catskills. I found him on an evening run up blackhead, while on the lookout for him. He was scared, so I had to give chase, but eventually got him after jumping into the bushes after him.

Running related bathroom stop story:
none

Running pet peeves:
Cars that drive too fast too close to runners

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I like problem solving/fixing things

Other hobbies and interests:
Home brewing

Other stuff:
Goals: To run uphill faster.

Page last modified: 3/22/2016


You are viewing Christopher Chromczak’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home