Club Member Since 3/7/2018

“Give it your best, nothing less”

City: Aspen State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Nike Wildhorse Zoom Size: M 5.5

Age: 50.6 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
my hubby and 5 of my favorite people in the world ages 5 to 18

What I do for work:
Patient Care Tech at local hospital

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Miami, Florida is my home town.
I enjoy living in the mountains because of all of the ways I can do things outdoors and because of the peace away from highly populated areas.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running in the spring of 2015 by going to a friend's run group because I had changed jobs and gym times were not working for me. I had run randomly at other times in my life.

What does running mean to me:

Running accomplishments:
All Valley Half Marathon- my first ever- in under 2 hours.
Aspen Backcountry Marathon in August 2016, 2017 and 2019.
Moab Trail Marathon in November 2017.
Two Rock and Roll Denver half marathons in 2016 and 2017 with a better time in 2017.
Many other small trail run events.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
being with nature and appreciating the body's ability to run

Favorite running trail and why:
Sunnyside Trail, Aspen CO. I remember the sun coming up on the cold morning in August when I was running towards Sunnyside Trail to start my first marathon, the man from out of town that asked me how many marathons I had done and i said it was my first (he had over 20 marathons) and the work and sense of accomplishment that led up to that day.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Aspen Backcountry Marathon. It was my first and it's such a tough and awesome day, moving up and down the trails.

Best running experience:
Grand Canyon Rim to River to Rim in April 2017 with friends and all of the adventurous people along the way

Worst running experience:
Moab Trail Marathon. I had no idea how technical and tough it would be as I pushed for a PR and barely held my run form together for the last mile

Neatest thing found on a run:
a neck gator that has since gone on many adventures with me

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
Ballet was my passion as a kid

Other hobbies and interests:
everything about my kids' lives, road cycling, swimming, uphill skinning/skimo, cross-country skiing, volunteering, doing kind things for others

Other stuff:
My favorite food might be peanut butter! Avocado is a close second.

Page last modified: 4/10/2020

You are viewing CLAUDIA KIRBY’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home