Brittany Jilek

Club Member Since 6/16/2016


"Courage to start, strength to endure, and resolve to finish."

City: Calhan State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Brooks Adrenaline Size: 7.5

Age: 34.6 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Husband, 4 dogs, 2 cats, 4 chickens, two steers, and 2 mini donkeys.

What I do for work:
I am an administrative secretary at the high school level.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
I was born on the Air Force Academy but was raised in San Diego. I went to college in Oregon but moved to Austin, Texas for job experience before returning to CO.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running in 2009 because I was living in a dog kennel/boarding facility and only had access to a "real" shower at the gym. Because I wanted to do more than shower while I was at the gym I started running and quickly became addicted.

Running accomplishments:
I have completed 5 half marathons and one full marathon. I recently qualified for the Pikes Peak Ascent which is a goal I have been working towards for over 1.5 years! I am beyond excited but very nervous.

Favorite running trail and why:
It changes. I go through spurts where I love the openness of the Paint Mines and then I prefer more shaded trails like Section 16 in Black Forest. As long as I am out in nature I am a happy girl.

Worst running experience:
I experienced heat stroke during one of my long runs after moving to the prairie out East. I was so used to running through parks that had shade and water and there isn't either on the prairie. I did manage to finish my run but I paid dearly for it!

Running pet peeves:
People who launch snot rockets without checking to see if it's clear.

Page last modified: 6/16/2016


You are viewing Brittany Jilek’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home