Becky Young

Club Member Since 11/28/2015

“Becky Young”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Salomon XR Mission Trail Size: 7.5

Age: 53.8 years old

Marital Status: married

Family members:
Brittany, daughter, 27; Sam, son, 25; Emily, daughter, 22; Lindsay, daughter, 19; Charley, son, 17; Kiley, granddaughter, 6. Trixie, tiny, aloof, adorable lap dog.

What I do for work:
I take care of my family and home.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Portageville, MO; Festus, MO; Norman, OK; Colorado Springs, CO;
I love the dryness and beautiful mountains. I love the trails and gorgeous scenery here. I love that there are not a lot of bugs here. I love that I can eat outside on my deck a good part of the year.

When I started running and what got me started:
I started running when my 4th child was young, so around 1997. I wanted to get healthy and in shape.

What does running mean to me:
Running keeps me sane. I like to push myself and see what I can and can't do. I like to find my limits. I like to get away and clear my mind. It reminds me that I am fit, powerful, and strong. It helps me appreciate my life and to be thankful.

Running accomplishments:
I ran my first half marathon at the 2016 Super Half! I was 49 yrs. old and the goal was to qualify for the ascent. I qualified! My goal time was 2:14 and I ran it in 2:10 even with some muddy/icy spots along the way that slowed me down.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Because of my knee issues, doc said I could continue to run on treadmill or dirt, no more pavement or sidewalk. I like the beauty, the lack of cars, and the lack of buildings. I like the beauty of nature.

Favorite running trail and why:
Santa Fe trail and Greenway. Lots of changing scenery and length.

Best running experience:
11.6 miles out and back up Rampart Range Rd. I surprised myself with distance and time on this run. I was by myself and it was snowing lightly at the beginning and the sun came out towards the end. It was just a great peace finding run.

Running pet peeves:
Bikers coming around a blind corner and me being able to tell you what they had for their last meal. Or dog owners that allow their dog to be across the trail and the leash stretches the width of the trail.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I'm a grandma. Most people seem very surprised.

Other hobbies and interests:
Cooking and eating. I'm a foodie.

Page last modified: 2/22/2016

You are viewing Becky Young’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home