Becky Carricaburu

Club Member Since 5/7/2013

“I love to look around and say, 'Look where I am, my feet brought me to this place.' ”

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Brooks Adrenaline ASR

Age: 29.2 years old

Marital Status: Single

Family members:
I live with my mom and sister and her daughter, and I also have another sister and my brother in law and two nephews.

What I do for work:
I work answering phones at a health clinic!

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Miami, Fl native, I used to love it there and then I moved here (military brat) and after many years of hating it, when I started running I started loving Colorado Springs!

When I started running and what got me started:
I first ran in cross country in high school to avoid going to PE, and then 2 years later I started again for weight loss, and then stopped caring about weight loss and cared more about just running!

What does running mean to me:
Running is my sanity.

Running accomplishments:
I've run 4 marathons: Colfax, Denver RnR, Kalamazoo, and Chicago. I've also run 2 halfs, the Bolder Boulder, and a handful of 5ks.

What I like about trail/mountain running:
Not just anyone can do it!

Best running experience:
Getting popsicles at mile 20 of a very miserable and hot marathon.

Neatest thing found on a run:
A lacrosse ball?

Running related bathroom stop story:
During my first marathon at Colfax, I was at around mile 7 and at the portapotty, and I guess I was in such a rush that I forgot to lock the door. A COP opens the door. I scream. He screams and apologizes from the next stall over. At that point I didn't really care, but it sure scared me!

Running pet peeves:
People who take up the whole trail while walking next to you and don't give room for people to go through!

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I'm an EMT! And Spanish was my first language.

Other hobbies and interests:
Drinking beer.. and I also do this Brazilian martial art called capoeira.

Other stuff:
Currently training to do the Triple Crown Series, I'll be doing the ascent for the first time!

Page last modified: 5/7/2013

You are viewing Becky Carricaburu’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home