Akio Lis

Club Member Since 1/22/2006

Send me a message

City: Colorado Springs State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Dr. Scholl's Size: 9

Age: 40.6 years old

Marital Status: single

Family members:
parents in Omaha (fortunately), seven furbies (old style)

What I do for work:
Band Instrument Repair Technician (Meeker's Music), private music instructor (all woodwinds plus recorder)

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Chicago, IL
Kent, OH
Omaha, NE
Sioux City, IA
Colorado Springs, CO - sooo many opportunities and tons of freedom (don't have to fill the roles I had to while in the midwest), mountains within walking distance, mild winters, no humidy in the summer (90 degree is actually comfortable and I don't have to breathe water)

When I started running and what got me started:
Started running six years ago - walked everywhere in college (no car), and, while taking a fitness course over the summer, discovered that I could run two miles with relative ease.

What does running mean to me:
Provides a physical challenge, both to improve distance I am capable of, and speed/stride length.

Running accomplishments:
One month on the Morningside College cross country team (and then the college orchestra started up for the year).

What I like about trail/mountain running:
The beautiful scenery (even when it snows and my feet are soggy, the pure snow in the mountain forests in gorgeous), wonderful company (met some good friends doing hiking), and varied terrain.

Favorite running trail and why:
Ute Indian Trail - the first trail I hiked when I moved to the Springs, so it is the trail I noticed improvement from seven months ago on the most. Also the first trail hike as coordinator for Fusion! hikes for the PPGLCC.

Best running experience:
Most recent run on the Ute trail ('cause, could actually run a good portion of it, where the first time I hiked the trail I had breathing difficulties on the first mile).

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I've had Diabetes (type one) since I was 16, which provided an impetus for improving my physical fitness in general (using both aerobic and weight training to do this).

Other hobbies and interests:
Performing music (in the Pikes Peak Flute Choir), watching anime and reading manga, playing Dance Dance Revolution (amazing for steep incline training), crocheting, baking, reading (lots and lots and lots) - I know I'm forgetting something here. Oh well.

Other stuff:
Goals - to run the Pikes Peak marathon, to compose a multimovement work for flute choir, to start production of wooden flute headjoints (made a few while at Western Iowa Tech, but have no access to a lathe - sob), continue to have a fun and challenging life.
Ooooo - also major fan of Wallace and Gromit - anyone else out there?

Page last modified: 1/22/2006

You are viewing Akio Lis’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home