Paul Scofield

Club Member Since 9/14/2004

Send me a message


City: Arvada State: CO

Favorite Shoe: Asics Size: 11.5

Age: 60.7 years old

Marital Status: Single and intrigued.

What I do for work:
Oracle programmer in the Denver area.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Denver, Durango, Arvada and, someday, Tucson.

When I started running and what got me started:
Originally started in 1975, ran more or less until 1997. Began uphill trail running in Jan 2002.

What does running mean to me:
Solitude, self-accomplishment and joy!

Running accomplishments:
Getting up the #$@*! trail and back!

What I like about trail/mountain running:
It's quiet, more of a challenge, lovlier scenery and much easier on my knees than asphalt and concrete. I also enjoy being out in the hills all four seasons -- though there is something about running uphill in a foot of fresh powder when it is 5 degrees out in late January that makes me really wish for Summer.

Favorite running trail and why:
I really like Meyer's Ranch Park in the Jefferson County Open Space system. It is a nice blend of meadows, steep hill sections, views and shade. The trail is on the northern slope -- which makes it kind of a luge run in late spring -- but the surface is otherwise mostly pine needles and soil -- much less flinty than most Front Range trails.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Most of my running is not-race related, but I must admit that I am gaining a real fondness for the Barr Trail. There is something ludicrous and heroic about running this trail!

Best running experience:
Finishing the first marathon I have ever been in at 46.

Worst running experience:
Not running for several years because of work demands.

Neatest thing found on a run:
A bear. I was about 50 yards away from it, running down a trail I had previously came up about a half-hour earlier, when the bear heard the sound of the key's I carry around my neck on a boot lace. It took off like a shot straight up a 15% grade, wooded draw. There is no way I would have outrun that bear. Since then it's bear bells for me.

Running related bathroom stop story:
I generally try to test the downslope, off-trail side of at least one waterbar when I am out!

Running pet peeves:
Mountain bikers that fly down the trail from behind without any warning.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I make really cool quilts.

Other hobbies and interests:
Reading, yee-haw (country western) dancing, the Sonoran desert, adobe architecture, dark-haired women, and really good mexican food -- especially chicken burritos with hot green chili, yum!

Page last modified: 9/14/2004


You are viewing Paul Scofield’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home