Alison Grimm

Club Member Since 8/21/2013


Alison Grimm








“Go big or go home!”


City: woodland park State: CO

Favorite Shoe: UGG..apres run/board Size: 8

Age: 45.7 years old

Marital Status: Married

Family members:
Hubby, daughter, son

What I do for work:
Zumba Instructor and awesome 24/7 Mom.

Places I’ve called home and why I like where I am now:
Texas, Ohio, Las Vegas, Colorado. I love it here...weather, terrain, snowboard, trails, great beer, wild west. I can wear cowboy boots, shorts, goggles, and a scarf all at once and no one cares!

When I started running and what got me started:
I was always a thin person and very nerdy in high school. Never athletic at all. After my son was born just kinda pulled a Forest Gump and ran out the door...trying to get away from screaming children...and found a new freedom. My husband became a big runner...more than me..but he's a road runner. I'm looking for the hills!

What does running mean to me:
It's the hardest thing I've done, physically. The fact that so many people don't do it and think it's impossible feeds my ambition to do more and get stronger.

Running accomplishments:
Nothing crazy yet. I've done a few 5ks and 10ks. I've done the incline 4 times and fell in love with Barr trail. Just paced a Leadville 100 runner in 2013. That was awesome and is why I'm here now!

What I like about trail/mountain running:
It's not boring. My main problem with road running. I love the challenge!

Favorite running trail and why:
Barr...it's the only one I've done so far here. Hope Pass is great but not driving 2 hours every time I want to run.

Favorite trail/mountain race and why:
Leadville 100. It's crazy! People looked like death at the aid stations. Can't believe people can run that far. Hope I'm next!

Best running experience:
Leadville 2013

Worst running experience:
Haven't had one yet.

Neatest thing found on a run:
Lamas at the top of Hope Pass

Running related bathroom stop story:
Just trying not to pee on my shoes...hard for a girl!

Running pet peeves:
Honking horns. For any reason.

Something non running related that no one would guess about me:
I'm an artist.

Other hobbies and interests:
Snowboarding, bikes, travel, crafts, hiking, dancing.

Other stuff:
Teach Zumba 3 days a week. Wine, sushi, any great food I really can't afford. I'm not a fiction reader at all, it's a waste of my time. So I tend to go for self-help books...diy, etc. I haven't seen a good movie in a while, it's always for the kids or some guy action flick for my hubby. I hate chick flicks btw.

Page last modified: 8/21/2013


You are viewing Alison Grimm’s Incline Club “About Me” page!
Return to the Sunday “*” board | Return to the Thursday “*” board
Create or edit your “About Me” page
Incline Club Home